HERE is why you want a fabulous wedding photographer

Because then you have fabulous prints to hang in your house. Even if it’s more than a year after your wedding. It took me a long-ass time to order prints and get them framed after we got married – I don’t know what the deal was. I think I was just overwhelmed by the fact that the wedding was actually over. But every minute of waiting was worth it. I love waking up to see three of my favorite images from our wedding. I remember exactly where I was and what I was doing when each of them was taken.

Of course, Yvonne Wong was the lovely photographer behind these works of art.

Oh, what’s that green box with a clock on it, you ask? Well, that’s ma’Dave box. It contains every movie receipt, love note, and date memento I’ve ever acquired with him. Also, I save dried petals from every bouquet he gets me. It’s getting a little full now, so I’m going to have to move on soon, but eventually I plan on doing something like this (scroll about halfway down) with all of the little bits and pieces. I hope I actually get my ‘tocks in gear and do it. And that random wooden plank is the letterpress thingie from my wedding invitations, courtesy of my lovely friend Aubrey (recognize those invitations??). I plan to get it framed next.

The wonky blue bottle next to my cupcake tower-slash-headband-and-hairpiece-holder used to have booze in it. Some sort of sake, I think. I don’t know. I couldn’t read the writing on the side and it wasn’t labeled in the grocery store and I just drank it without asking.

For you Chicago brides, the framing was done at A Practical Angle. It was wonderful. The dude in the shop seemed pretty impressed at how quickly I made decisions – little did he know that I had been thinking about this for a good 10 months. He said he and his wife were married in under three minutes and he had no clue where the photos had ended up, so I left feeling simultaneously arrogant and a little sad for him.

I was so happy to work with Yvonne because she not only documents the event but she creates pieces of art in the process. I didn’t want any posed shots in our house, and I didn’t want every photo we selected to look like a wedding gown ad. Check and check. What wedding photos do you have framed, or are you planning on framing?

Tags:

9 Comments to “HERE is why you want a fabulous wedding photographer”

  1. Love the framing and the pictures! They look awesome.

  2. Love them! They look gorgeous and go so well in that space.

    I have a big picture of after our kiss where we hugged for about a minute. I wanted it smaller but selected an 11X12 instead so there that is. We also have 8X10 in a beautiful frame that my husband’s grandparents gave us. We’re standing outside in the middle of the tropical storm that hit on our wedding day. The ocean was going crazy and the world looked like it was about to end, but there we were trying not to fall of the balcony, laughing and just being married.

    Oh, and I can’t wait for the book. How effing exciting!

  3. LOVE! LOVE! LOVE!

    you know what else is funny about your pictures vs. my pictures…i think yours somehow have a lot of the same colors you use in decorating your house and i think mine have the same thing. its like our personalities were captured in them as well…you know? how awesome is that?!

  4. Beautiful photography, framing, and display! Love your style, and Yvonne IS awesome…I follow her blog after your recommendation.

    BTW, I’ve just quit my job to pursue photography full time. Eeeeekkkkk!!! 🙂 http://www.andreahubbell.com

  5. i know i’m not suppose to say this, but wiggs, you are seriously one of my fav’s.

    you guys are so hot. they look like stock images that came with the frames! ha!

  6. hey – how did you print the pictures here? did you print them through your photog or just fine a place online? any help/suggestions would be much appreciated! thx.

    • OH haaaaay – so, since we were printing small versions (3×5), Dave went ahead and did it on Shutterfly. Any online photo printing is good for small photos, but if you want large-format I’d recommend working with your photographer – because (a) she will edit the CRAP outta your images and make you look like a model, and (b) you can tell a good print from a mile away when it’s big like that.

Leave a Reply

