Oof.

Okay, some updates and some pictures.

1. I’m working full-time and I LOVE it. I have my own cubicle! I’ve only ever worked in open-office plans or from home, but I love having my own little cubby to hide in when I’m feeling antisocial. But I have to do that annoying blogger thing and not tell you where I work, because I don’t know whether I could get in trubs for that. But it is awesome, and I have a sort-of long commute which I’m friggin’ PASSIONATE about since I get to listen to books on tape and have alone time. Is that weird? (I’m listening to The Magicians and it is…well…magical.)

cubicle1

cubicle

Also, I love the excuse to buy business casual attire.

DSC_0589

And…I have a private blog with my three besties where we post what we wear every day, and the other day when I was trying to take a photo of my outfit, this is what happened:

DSC_0017

2. Um, so I may or may not be running a half-marathon in t-minus 4 weeks, and I started training for it…yesterday. Literally. Like, I hadn’t worked out in months before yesterday. I wore a heart-rate monitor and it went crazy beeping at me because my pulse got above 190. Apparently that’s bad. I’ll tell you this: it FELT bad. I think it was the 90-degree heat, paired with my terrible physical shape. I felt like such a turd the whole time – which was only an hour, since I was only running 5 miles, which used to be my short(ish) run distance. How the heck do you get back into running after you train for a race? It’s been over a year since my last half and I still haven’t been able to force myself to do it. Yeesh.

3. Cooking = nadda. No time. To tell you the truth, I can’t remember what I’ve been eating. Here’s what happened when I tried to take a photo of a cooking adventure a couple of months ago (it’s been such a long time I don’t even remember what I made):

DSC_0251

DSC_0252

4. This is totally random, but can I tell you how freakin’ awesome my mom is? A lady never reveals her mother’s weight, but my mom weighs the same as me right now. She’s gotten all into Yoga and she’s making me look bad.

5. I didn’t realize you people were asking me more anonymous questions on my formspring! I answered all but one question (which, I’m so sorry to the person who asked, but my family would KILL me if I answered, even though it’s not a juicy answer).

6. So here’s what I think would be awesome: if you guys requested blog posts. I have an easier time writing them when you have specific demands. (Yes, I’m basically asking you to do the work for me) (that’s what grad school is teaching me, apparently).

7. Here’s a gratuitous photo of my son:

DSC_0532

16 Comments to “Oof.”

  1. On your formspring you were soliciting books to read, well do I have one for you? Yes, yes I do:
    Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann. It will destroy you in a very magical way.

    And I will always and forever recommend Remains of the Day by Kazuo Ishiguro (and anything else by him as well). It is simply wonderful and thoughtful and beautiful and all of those things a book should be.

    Also, Ann Patchett wrote Bel Canto (adore!) and if you haven’t read them you should read both The Patron Saint of Liars and Truth and Beauty (esp Truth and Beauty!).

    Congrats on the job!

    • Okay, I read that one by Ishiguro about the clones and it disturbed me…not in a good way. Is Remains of the Day a little less freaky-deaky?

  2. Hey, hey! Nice to hear from you Wiggs! Congratulations on the job. First cubicles are always exciting. I posted this in my first cubicle and it rocked my world ever day: http://teishurecords.com/turtley/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/timetravel.jpg

    A couple months ago I read this book called Life’s That Way by Jim Beaver. Amazing. It’s a memoir about the emails that Jim would send to his family after his wife got sick with cancer. He would write updates everyday but the emails became sort of therapy for him. I’m not doing the books justice. There were parts where I cried like a baby but it’s so worth it.

    Also, Water for Elephants. LOVED IT!

  3. i want 12 of 12. and you still owe us for this month!

  4. Love to read you excited… working, exercising and sounding all “up”!!

    • Feh, I wouldn’t call my exercising part of that “up” feeling. It’s more of a poo feeling. Poo-squared, even. But thank you for liking my verve…I quite like it myself.

  5. Where’s the cute skirt in your business-casual photo from? (And congrats on the job and all!)

  6. my elbows look old. it’s always sumthin’

  7. Remains of the Day has a markedly different tone to Never Let Me Go (which I loved but needed to shower after reading). It almost feels like an EM Forster (book or something of a similar era). It’s about greatness and purpose and loyalty and loss. Oh, just read it – I can’t describe it, I am a mathematician by training. Trust this stranger on the internet.

    But also, READ Let the Great World Spin. DO IT! NOW.

    Also, also – where did you get that great grey bag?

  8. my friend told me about your blog and i just hopped on to take a peek…i LOVE it. it’s so great. i think we would be friends if we knew each other for reals 😀 ha ha! have a great day!

    • Aw, you’re so nice. It’s good to know that I’m getting new readers even when I’m not updating this stupid blog. I’m going to one of these days…mark my words. My untrustworthy words.

  9. loool i definately don’t love my cubicle, I wan’t to see it recycled.

  10. Perhaps once you’re back on the blogging wagon you could post some tips for running gear/apparel? I would love that so so much!

Leave a Reply

