WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER!!!

fullscreen-capture-8252009-11217-pm

People, I have the swine flu. That’s all I’m going to say about it. I don’t like making excuses for being a lame blog-writer, but I think that’s a pretty good one. Also, the swine flu’s not that bad. I mean, it’s bad enough to knock me off of my blogging game, but it’s not, like, the plague.

But I digress. I am completely overwhelmed with the wit and hilarity that you people displayed in the ol’ comments section of the contest. Some of you should be professional book titlers. Trust me, there’s a market for it. My mama and I put our heads together and chose a winner, but don’t let that make the other 114 of you feel like you weren’t awesome. We had to take the tone and focus of the book into account, so some of the funniest titles simply didn’t fit.

Okay. So let’s just do this. It’s like ripping off a Band-Aid, right? Right. Good lord, I’m nervous.

The winner, author of our current working book title, and proud new owner of a KitchenAid stand mixer, is…..

“Thinly Veiled: A Guide to Mother-Daughter Wedding Planning” by Meghann!!!!! She somehow managed to be all psychic and capture the exact combination of cleverness and straightforward delivery that we were looking for. Meghann, my dear, you are a genius.

Of course, there are two randos who won KitchenAids, too. Random.org chose….dadadadadadadada (drumroll) dadadadadadada….

Liz Lemon (author of “How I Planned Your Wedding,”ย one of the titles my mom and I almost chose when we were having the Title Battle Royale), and Erin, who linked to the contest twice! Now that’s commitment.

But, people, I couldn’t let one reader’s title idea go without reward. If my publisher would let me, I would totally use her idea: “F*ck You, Wiggs is Getting Hitched.” I seriously peed a little when I read that. So Sherri, you get a 50-dolla Amazon gift certificate. Just for being my soulmate.

Congrats to all of the winners – I’ll email you soon to sort out the details. Everyone else – you blew me away with your awesomeness.

Now I’m off to defeat the swine flu and then I’ll finally get back to my normal blogging skedge.

13 Responses to “WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER!!!”

  1. What fun ! Congratulations to the winners ๐Ÿ™‚

    and GET WELL SOON !

    Pam

  2. Congrats to the winners! That the pits about being sick though, hopefully it isn’t putting too much of a damper on grad school stuff, among other things. Hope you beat it quick! (a little bit because I am selfish and want more wiggs in my life)
    -K

  3. I hope you get well soon! Make sure you stay away from others, if you really have H1N1 ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Congrats to the winners!

  4. Get well soon, and congrats winners!

  5. SHUT UP! i just about fell off my chair when i saw my name in your blog… THANK YOU and hooray for ME!! i hope you’re on the mend… swine flu is nothing to oink about… i’m running my first marathon next sunday (portland) and i’m so paranoid about getting sick (and falling off my new scooter and losing a limb but that’s a whole other story…). thanks again, soulmate!

  6. Oh wow, I just got through a double whammy of swine flu- strepthroat, so I know how horrible you must feel. Take care of yourself, and hang in there. Remind Dave that foot massages are a miracle cure ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Congrats to the winners!

  7. Wow!

    I cannot believe this! Squeal! I’m so glad you liked it!

  8. Oh wow! This is fantastic news. I’m so excited! Thank you very much.

    PS: I’m pretty sure that a mixture of irish coffee and bacon will cure the swine flu ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. HOLLA MEGHANN! HOLLAAAAAAAAAAA RANDOMWINNER.COM! thanks a million wiggs women, i love you forever.

  10. Fabulous title! I love it! As one of the lucky planners, I’m probably in line just after your Mom and Dave to read it! Miss you much. Hope Chi-town is treating you well.

    If you two are in the area for Thanksgiving/Hanukkah/Christmas, we’d love to have a glass of champagne…

    Much love always. xoxoxo

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

