America: EFF Yeah!

People, that was a grrrrreat weekend. What did you get up to? We spent a goodly portion of the holiday at my parents’ house, enjoying the water and sunshine. Dave’s younger bro was here for his very first American Fourth of July celebration, so obviously we had to make sure the weekend was epic. I also got about two workouts in (more on that after I show you a butt-ton of photos).

Here are Dave and his bro-ski getting ready for Airheading. You’ll see what I mean in a second.

swimming, boating, etc 029

Gotta put wet suits on to go in the Puget Sound, otherwise you’ll get hypothermia in 20 minutes. True story.

swimming, boating, etc 033

My dad pulled the li’l boat up onto the rocks to pick the boys up. Another true story: he and Dave are both 6’4″ and weigh about 170 pounds. Coincidence? Fate? The world may never know. But what the world DOES know is that they share clothes like it’s nobody’s business.

swimming, boating, etc 036

Ah, now you see the Airhead.

swimming, boating, etc 039

swimming, boating, etc 041

Dave came home with some seaweed in his hair, and by that time some lovely friends had come over to hang by the pool. This was workout number one, which didn’t really feel at all like a workout until I realized how tired I was later that day. You see, we played this game…

swimming, boating, etc 044

I had never played it before (clearly, judging by my poor form above). See if you can guess what we’re doing.

swimming, boating, etc 046

swimming, boating, etc 048

swimming, boating, etc 050

swimming, boating, etc 059

swimming, boating, etc 054

swimming, boating, etc 069

Oh man, those last two are classic. So did you guess what the game was? Basically, you run and jump into the pool, and the goal is to keep your head above water the whole time. That’s it. Does it sound lame? Don’t knock it till you try it. And it’s wayyyy better than doing a set of abs and lunges any day.

I mentioned that I got in two workouts this week. See, here’s the thing: after the half marathon last Saturday, I began experiencing a craptastic pain in my right foot. It has faded over the course of this week, but walking is still difficult at times. I figure it’s my body’s way of telling me that it needs a break from running, so I obliged until Saturday morning. We went on a quick four-mile run – I say “quick” because there were five of us and I let myself give into the pressure of keeping up with them. Whoops. By the end of the workout, my foot was throbbing so I iced it and decided that I’m probably going to avoid any hard, fast runs until I see a physical therapist. It sort of sucks because I don’t want to get out of the habit of running and working out. I’m actually completely baffled by the idea of training AFTER running a half-marathon. I mean, I don’t want to get in worse shape by cutting my mileage, you know?

Runners out there, tell me what you do when you’ve completed a big race. How does your training vary, and how much do you run for “maintenance” between rounds of training?

I’ll leave you all with the best picture of the weekend. Our friend, Jabez, flying.

swimming, boating, etc 065

God, he’s awesome.

Tags: , ,

10 Comments to “America: EFF Yeah!”

  1. It’s been a long time since I’ve been between trainings – usually they all just tack right into each other! 🙂

    I guess that what I would probably do is repeat the last 4-6 weeks of training while deciding what my next big goal is (if any). That way you do get a little stepback of lower mileage, but you’re not losing too much base and you are still getting in some long runs while giving your body a break.

    My $0.02!

    Nice pics! Sounds like a great weekend.

  2. I love the person in the red bikini that is bascially sleeping/tanning through all of the pictures.

    Your parents house looks so pretty!

    And I kinda hate your guts right now because I am currently on a lunch break from a practice multichoice Bar day and have another 3 hour/100 question test to go back to. FML.

    Let your foot rest up. The mileage will come back (or atleast that is what I keep telling myself).

  3. Great pics!

    Funny coincidence: my right heel is killing me this week, a week after the half marathon!

    I looked ahead and found another half marathon I could do in August, a 10K in Sept., another in Oct.: I figure, like Amy above, that I need the incentive to keep at it.

    But, this week is definitely resting and icing the foot week;-)

  4. All good pieces of advice, ladies. For rillz.

    Whit, the red bikini sleeper is Molly, my little roommate for the summer. 🙂

  5. Holy hell, YOU had a fun weekend! Bahahaha, those faces!!! CLASSIC.

    -Courtney
    http://peacelovehealthiness.wordpress.com

    My boyfriend is asking me why I’m laughing right now …

  6. Love the pics of you guys “flying!” Looks like a lot of fun!!

    That pain in your foot is a sign, probably to cut back the mileage and take it easy for a couple weeks. You DON’T want that to get worse, but you also don’t want to get out of shape either. Hit the elliptical and/or bike to give your foot a break from the pounding. Then ice it after EVERY workout. You can beat this little injury if you are careful and listen to your body. Does it hurt during an entire run? Not good, and you need a day off. Does it hurt after every run? Cut back on the mileage and pounding and ICE ICE ICE. 🙂

    • Well you sound like you know what you’re talking about (god I love you smart readers). I’ll definitely do the icing method…I’m thinking that I’m going to try to incorporate a LOT more cross-training for the half in September.

  7. Wiggs,
    I completely credit you with getting my butt in gear and becoming a runner. I try to run at least 3 miles every single day and it has been so great! So thanks for that.

    I found a site called DailyMile and it is AWESOME! It helps you track your run, progress, calories burned, miles logged, etc. (I swear I have no affiliation with this site, just thought it was cool and something you and Dave may want to check out!)

    Can’t wait to read more about your running and your wedding!!

    xoxo
    jocelyn

    • Ooooo, holler. I’m going to do a special post on awesome websites because I’ve come across a bunch lately. I’m honored that I got you running – but now that you’re doing it, don’t you see what I mean about it? It doesn’t take that much skill to be able to do it.

  8. “Ah, now you see the airhead.” Haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaha.

    Looks like a fun time! Love that pool game. I used to play it a lot, and some peeps had the nerve to ask me ‘why I was jumping in the pool like that…’ Siiiiigh.

Leave a Reply

