Half-marathon training: Day 43

Today was another stretch & strength day. I have to be honest: I’ve kind of been slacking off on these days. I just don’t get satisfaction from strength training like I do from a good cardio workout.

I did my usual strength routine: 3 sets of 12 lunges, squats, tricep dips, and push-ups, followed by a 10-minute ab routine. Then I decided that since I loafed the strength part, I would do a kick-ass stretch sesh. Enter Yuri:

He’s yet another reason to love Canadians.

THEN I started looking at Yuri’s other videos. Dude, the guy is a man after my own heart! Look at this one – the first half offers some twists on what I’ve already been doing, and the second half incorporates a couple of new moves (including a bridge/leg-extension thingy that I’ve never seen before) (awesome).

Dreamy.

I highly recommend browsing through Yuri’s YouTube channel if you’re looking for good ways to spice up your strength training routine, especially if you don’t belong to a gym. I’ll do a workout inspired by him next Thursday (my next strength-training day) and let you know how it goes.

Also, I’m going to make a drinking game (Gatorade or booze, your choice) to this particular video:

Drink whenever:

  • Yuri does something that could be interpreted as sexual (including humping motions or saying the word “thrust”).
  • Yuri talks about using your infant as a weight.
  • Yuri says “kettle bell” or “knapsack”.
  • Yuri makes a sound effect, such as “boom”.
  • Yuri reminds you of: Andre Agassi, Moby, or Mr. Clean. Which might be the whole time.

(Yuri, if you happen to read this, I’m not making fun! You have awesome workouts and I plan on trying them all.)

In addition to the Yuri videos that you KNOW you’re going to be adding to your strength routine, what other ways have you found of jazzing up your non-cardio workouts?

3 Comments to “Half-marathon training: Day 43”

  1. I have been doing yoga stretches lately…I find it is a nice full body stretch compared to me usual standard ones.

  2. Just swinging by from SkinnyRunner’s blog. What half marathon are you running?

    http://www.runnernic.wordpress.com
    http://www.nicole–marie.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

