Half-marathon training: Day 29

My Dave pointed out that today was officially 4 weeks into my half-marathon training! Woot! You know, I don’t usually look forward to Mondays, but since I’ve been following Hal Higdon’s training plan, I get excited for Mondays because they’re my stretch/strengthen days.

And man, today’s workout was totally freakin’ awesome. I ended up being busy all day with work (hence the Latey McLaterson post), so when Dave came home from class I still hadn’t pumped any iron. People, I don’t know how or why, but I was hit by the best idea of all time: we would do Wiggs-n-Dave’s 30 Day Shred!!!

Orange

I should note that I had to tint my picture ORANGE to even come close to Jillian's tan...clearly I need to get a different photo-editing program than PowerPoint.

Listen to me! Here’s how to do your next workout. Don’t question me. Just do it:

Step 1: Get a stopwatch.

Step 2: Decide how long you want to work out (we went the Jillian Michaels route and did 20 minutes)

Step 3: Grab a workout buddy or two, or, if you’re on your own, write 20 exercises on slips of paper and jumble them all in a bowl. Each minute of your workout, you must do a different exercise move. If you’ve got a buddy with you, take turns surprising each other with your next move. If you’re on your own, pull a slip of paper out of the bowl to see what you’ll be doing next.

It was so much fun! I loved not knowing what was coming. It was fun to think to myself “now I’m going to do a reeeeally hard one and KILL Dave!” or “Alright, alright, I’ll go easy on him and do reverse curls.” We did so many different moves that I can’t remember them all, but here are some highlights: tricep dips, plank, upright rows, side lunges, squat jumps, skipping in place, leg lifts, pushups, flutter kicks…

When 20 minutes were over, I was sweating like a whore in church, but I was having so much fun that I totally could have gone for another 10 minutes. Next Monday, I’m going to try doing the Wiggs-n-Dave Shred on my own, with slips of paper in a bowl. I’m already excited!

…and that, my friends, marks the first whole month of training for your favorite little Wiggs.

8 Comments to “Half-marathon training: Day 29”

  1. Who needs Jillian when you’ve got Wiggs and Dave??

  2. hahahaha that picture is hilarious

  3. Have you tried the Jillian Michaels dvd, by any chance? Not that your version isn’t amaaazing (of course).

  4. I haven’t, but I’m DYING to! I think I’m going to cave and buy it the next time I get my paycheck.

  5. it’s only $8.49 on amazon!

  6. Great blog! I found you through Oh She Glows! I just got the 30 day shred in the mail today! Love you 20 min workout idea!

  7. lol – sweating like a whore in church! I’m so using that today (not at work, although that would be interesting).

    This is such a great idea! Now I just need more friends that work out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

