Archive for March 31st, 2009

March 31, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 29

My Dave pointed out that today was officially 4 weeks into my half-marathon training! Woot! You know, I don’t usually look forward to Mondays, but since I’ve been following Hal Higdon’s training plan, I get excited for Mondays because they’re my stretch/strengthen days.

And man, today’s workout was totally freakin’ awesome. I ended up being busy all day with work (hence the Latey McLaterson post), so when Dave came home from class I still hadn’t pumped any iron. People, I don’t know how or why, but I was hit by the best idea of all time: we would do Wiggs-n-Dave’s 30 Day Shred!!!

Orange

I should note that I had to tint my picture ORANGE to even come close to Jillian's tan...clearly I need to get a different photo-editing program than PowerPoint.

Listen to me! Here’s how to do your next workout. Don’t question me. Just do it:

Step 1: Get a stopwatch.

Step 2: Decide how long you want to work out (we went the Jillian Michaels route and did 20 minutes)

Step 3: Grab a workout buddy or two, or, if you’re on your own, write 20 exercises on slips of paper and jumble them all in a bowl. Each minute of your workout, you must do a different exercise move. If you’ve got a buddy with you, take turns surprising each other with your next move. If you’re on your own, pull a slip of paper out of the bowl to see what you’ll be doing next.

It was so much fun! I loved not knowing what was coming. It was fun to think to myself “now I’m going to do a reeeeally hard one and KILL Dave!” or “Alright, alright, I’ll go easy on him and do reverse curls.” We did so many different moves that I can’t remember them all, but here are some highlights: tricep dips, plank, upright rows, side lunges, squat jumps, skipping in place, leg lifts, pushups, flutter kicks…

When 20 minutes were over, I was sweating like a whore in church, but I was having so much fun that I totally could have gone for another 10 minutes. Next Monday, I’m going to try doing the Wiggs-n-Dave Shred on my own, with slips of paper in a bowl. I’m already excited!

…and that, my friends, marks the first whole month of training for your favorite little Wiggs.