Archive for March 28th, 2009

March 28, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 27

Today I was supposed to do 40 minutes of cross-training, but I went on a 90-minute dog walk with my friend Laura. I figure somewhere in there I got enough exercise, right? But, dude, CHECK OUT the type of dog she has:

english-setter-dog

That’s an English Setter. Her name is Ellie and walking her down the street was like walking with Reese Witherspoon. Every single person we passed stopped us and asked what type of dog she was (that’s what happens to Reese, too) (JUST KIDDING, she’s my fave actress and I completely idolize her!). Even when Ellie left a tootsie roll in some lady’s front yard, the lady just stepped off her porch and said, “What a pretty dog! You don’t have to worry about cleaning that up; the gardener will be here soon anyway.” Which leads me to believe that a) we were walking in a rich neighborhood, and b) if you have an English Setter, you can punch someone square in the nose and she’ll thank you for it before asking to pet your dog.

So, yeah, no bells ‘n’ whistles today about my training; I went on a long walk with a gorgeous dog and a lovely friend. The reason I’m glad I worked out today is because I got to hang with a well-mannered pooch for the morning and I also got to smile knowingly at everyone who complimented her, as if to say, “Yes, this is my dog; I’m just letting my friend here walk her, and THANK YOU, I also think that I am just as beautiful a human as she is a dog.”

March 28, 2009

Holy crumb.

Watch this. Then get back to me on how AWESOME it is and how you almost died with antici…PATION!

where-the-wild-things-are-omg

March 28, 2009

Progress!!!

Oh man, you guys. Oh boy. I’m so excited. I’m literally panting with excitement. I finally had noticeable progress today!!!!

Are you ready to have your mind blown?

…drumroll…

MY ROLL MOVED!!!!

Lemme clarify that. I typically have two to two-and-a-half rolls on my stomach. They usually line up with where my six-pack would be, if I had one (pshaw, right). Please, to observe:

Here's a picture of my abs* with the rolls drawn on.

Here's a picture of my abs* with the rolls drawn on.

Do you like my belly button ring and acryllic nails? As you can see, I have two pronounced rolls at the top part of my abs, and then a slight “crease” in my skin where another roll is TRYING to form, but I won’t let it.

Well, this morning I was sitting on the couch with only my sports bra and shorts on, and I looked down…and roll #2 (the middle one) had MOVED! See, it used to swallow my bellybutton, so that when I was sitting in full roll formation, I couldn’t see my navel. This sucked, because I have an awesome ‘button – along with my calves, it’s my favorite part of my body. TODAY, though, I can SEE my precious little umbilical scar again! (Is that a gross name for it?) Roll #2 is still there, but it’s much more shallow and no longer hides the very best part of my abdomen. YAY!!! What’s more, I can’t be totally sure, but I swear that my abs look flatter from the side. Oh man you guys, this is the first time since I started this stupid training that I’ve actually been able to tell that my body is changing!

Ever since I did that ab post, I’ve been doing my ab routine about 3-4 times a week (I usually don’t go longer than 6 or 7 minutes at a time, though; don’t get all in a tizz thinking that you need to add an extra three hours of workout time to your routine). And I guess it’s paying off! What a great day this is. A great, great day.

 

*Okay, FINE, those are not my abs. Also not my boob job hanging out of the bottom of the sports bra.
March 28, 2009

Wiggs’s famous secret salad dressing

Whenever I make dinner for someone – without fail – if I serve a salad, the only thing I get compliments on is the dressing. But I’m not complaining. My salad dressing IS pretty amazing. 

My lunch, dressed in my amazing recipe

My lunch, dressed in my amazing recipe

So good is this dressing, that people who have had it come to me years later and ask how I made it. My bridesmaid/lovely friend, Lucy, even asked me this morning (this post is dedicated to you, Lucy!).

“Get on with the recipe, Wiggs, and stop bragging about how good it is,” you say. Well, I say, you need to understand that this is no ordinary salad dressing. You may never go back to the bottle again. What’s more, it’s totally adaptable to whatever flavors you’re looking for, so you can always modify it! SHAZZAM!

Even better, you more than likely have all of the ingredients you need, just sitting there in your kitchen, crying out to be made into a delicious dressing!

Tags: