How Wiggs got her groove back: Part Uno

We’ll consider this a prologue to the series of posts I plan on writing about how I went from this:

Actually, this is better than I currently look because I've since gained 7 friggin pounds.

Actually, this is better than I currently look because I've since gained 7 friggin pounds.

…to this:

That's me on the right, just before my last race of my swimming career in 2006. Can you believe that I hated my body back then? Gah, Wiggs. Figure it out.

That's me on the right, just before my last race of my swimming career in 2006. Can you believe that I hated my body back then? Gah, Wiggs. Figure it out.

I’m not there yet (clearly). But I figure that by writing this prologue, in which I outline my plan of attack, I’ll have more success staying committed to what I’m doing.

So let’s talk numbers. I know that a lot of people don’t believe in weighing yourself and counting calories, and to some extent I see their point. A lot of women can tell how much they weigh based on how their clothes fit…but for some reason, I’m a total airhead about that sort of stuff and never notice myself gaining or losing weight until I look in the mirror and either like or hate what I see. And by that time it’s too late. Thus, I will be weighing myself to track my progress.

My scale has a helpful little reminder each time I step on it. I think I should put duct tape over it because sometimes it makes me want to take a sledge hammer and do some damage. Except...I wonder how much duct tape weighs.

My scale has a helpful little reminder each time I step on it. I think I should put duct tape over the word because sometimes it makes me want to take a sledge hammer and do some damage to it. Except...I wonder how much duct tape weighs.

I don’t know how I feel about counting calories yet. On the surface, it seems like a one-way ticket to disordered eating…but I also think that I’m being a dumbass if I hide nutrition labels from myself (don’t pretend you haven’t done it). For now, I’m not going to set any hard-and-fast rules in terms of how many calories I can eat, but I am going to begin educating myself so that I don’t end up gorging myself without knowing it.

Uh…so far this doesn’t sound like much of a plan, right?

Well it’s still an ovum of a plan, if you will. Here are some of the more concrete things I’m going to do:

  • Keep a daily food journal. No, I will not share this with you because it will be boring. I will share my recipes if they’re fun or interesting, but that’s about all you can expect.
  • Weigh myself each morning, after I make some lemonade but before I eat anything. Yes, I know this is the lowest I weigh all day and I won’t act like that’s not a part of choosing this time to step on the scale…but more than that, it’s the only time of day that I can control how much weight I’ve added/lost over the course of my activities. I’ve been known to eat 6 pounds of food in one sitting, so this way I’ll know that (for the most part) any fluctuations I see in my weight are fairly realistic.
  • Eat intuitively. Basically, I will only eat when I’m hungry, and I will stop eating when I’m no longer hungry. And I’ll always eat what I’m craving unless it’s junk food (for example, I won’t eat a salad when I really feel like yogurt). I also suspect that I do a lot of stress/boredom eating – especially late at night – so whenever I feel like eating, I’m going to have a glass of water or a cup of tea first, and if I’m still hungry afterward then I’ll know that my body actually wants some calories.
  • Get at least 7.5 hours of sleep per night. I admit, I was swayed by the Glamour article about the “sleep diet.” So I’m going to try it – plus, even if it doesn’t help me lose weight, at least I’ll have more energy.
My new morning ritual

My new morning ritual (it needs some dusting)

When you’re trying to lose weight, what methods do you use?

Oh, and I guess I’ll tell you. This morning I weighed 130.2 pounds. (Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh)
4 Responses to “How Wiggs got her groove back: Part Uno”

  1. I have never actually tried to lose weight. Rather, I hope it spontaneously just falls from me. This has worked for me (as I am not carrying around tons of excess weight) and has not worked for me (I could stand to lose 10 pounds). I am also not quite young anymore (over 40) and think I may have to modify in the future. I really think that regular exercise (which I started making a priority maybe 2 years ago) and what you call intuitive eating are the key to getting or staying slim. I’m a huge victim of the late night stress/boredom eating that you talk about, and I’m going to steal your cup of tea/glass of water idea . . .

  2. Maybe just weigh yourself once a week or so. I feel like I would obsess too much if I did it every day. But it is a good idea to do it at a consistent time everyday.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

