Archive for March 26th, 2009

March 26, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 25

You know how sometimes, when you get sick, and then you think you’re getting better, you actually get worse? Yeah. That happened to me today. I feel like I’m wearing a headband of pain, and movement only makes it throb more – not to mention the congestion of every orifice in my head. (How can your mouth be congested? I feel like mine is.)

But I was hell-bent on sticking to my training plan. See, I’m doing Hal Higdon’s workouts, but within any given week I jumble them up based on how I’m feeling that day. Since I already used my rest day this week, I had to go with my 2.0 miler. I mean, anyone can do 2 miles without whining, right?

Wrong.

I took this pic right before heading out for my workout and the little kid you see there actually PASSED me on her tricycle.

I took this pic right before heading out for my workout and the little kid you see there actually PASSED me on her 18-inch-tall, pink, training-wheeled, beribboned bicycle.

The whole thing took me 27 minutes (you do the math – most of the time I was walking) and my head felt like it was about to split open. Even the fact that I was outside didn’t help.

However, there WAS a silver-lining (and also a reason to be glad I worked out). About 30 school kids were having their P.E. class on the field and I got to watch them and remember how much fun physical activity used to be for me. In fact, it wasn’t even “physical activity” or “working out” when I was little – it was just playing.

Is it creepy to take super zoomed-in spy pictures of people across the street from my condo? No? Didn't think so.

Is it creepy to take super zoomed-in spy pictures of people across the street from my condo? No? Didn't think so.

As I heard their laughter drifting across the field, I got a little wistful for my own childhood, when I BEGGED my parents to let me go outside to run around and ride my bike. I envied my neighbors with their giant trampoline where we would spend hours bouncing in the air and giggling with each other. Sitting around all day was, for me, torture (in fact, it was called “being grounded”). Why did that change? I don’t really have a good answer, but I do think that I’d like to add another goal to my training plan: I want to be excited about playing (a.k.a. working out) again. Even if it’s just one workout a week, I want to be happy to be running and jumping around. I have no clue how to do this; maybe I’ll make Dave come and play tag with me…? Anyway, I must say thanks to those kids for reminding me of how I used to regard physical activity. I’m going to chew on this and come up with some ideas. Your insight in this quest for an immature outlook on life will be much appreciated.

Do you remember what it was like when you were little? Do you still experience the same excitement when you get to go outside and run/cycle/swim/walk?

March 26, 2009

How Wiggs got her groove back: Part Uno

We’ll consider this a prologue to the series of posts I plan on writing about how I went from this:

Actually, this is better than I currently look because I've since gained 7 friggin pounds.

Actually, this is better than I currently look because I've since gained 7 friggin pounds.

…to this:

That's me on the right, just before my last race of my swimming career in 2006. Can you believe that I hated my body back then? Gah, Wiggs. Figure it out.

That's me on the right, just before my last race of my swimming career in 2006. Can you believe that I hated my body back then? Gah, Wiggs. Figure it out.

I’m not there yet (clearly). But I figure that by writing this prologue, in which I outline my plan of attack, I’ll have more success staying committed to what I’m doing.

I’m about to get real, people. REAL.