Half-marathon training: Day 24

I woke up this morning, and it was like nature heard me saying that I was going to turn over a new leaf! The trees that have been totally barren and dead-looking since last November sprouted blooms overnight.

And it's only going to get prettier...(OR ELSE)

And it's only going to get prettier...(OR ELSE)

You can’t tell from the photo, but the skies were bright blue, too.

I still feel The Crud in my chest, but I wasn’t going to let that keep me from getting back on track with my training. This morning was also my last chance to work out with the lovely Molly as my gym buddy, so I hauled my wheezy, sniffly ass up to the weight room and slogged out 3.5 miles at 5 mph. Sure, I could probably power-walk that fast (okay, strike that – I could DEFINITELY power-walk that fast. I know because I tried it, just to see how slowly I was trotting). But it’s okay; I still burned a good 350 calories and I felt pretty great, all things considered. I think that for me, 5.0 mph is my magic speed that I could do forever without needing a break. I can go 6 or 7 mph for a while, but after three or four miles, I start to bitch out. I have a fantasy that someday 7 mph will be my magical speed…but we’re taking baby steps here, people. This isn’t easy.

While I was clip-clopping on the treadmill, Molly lifted weights and chatted with me and we watched The View. It was awesome.

Here we are the other night. See how good I am at hiding my sickness? Molly does that for me. She's like a magical elixer.

Here we are the other night. See how good I am at hiding my sickness? Molly does that for me. She's like a magical elixer.

Why am I glad I worked out today? Because it made me feel renewed. The combination of having my dear friend with me, the beautiful weather, and the new buds on the trees outside reminded me why I need to be grateful (instead of friggin’ mopey) about my life. I have strong legs that can run for (some) miles, I work for myself and get to call my own shots all day, I have a creative outlet for my writing (this blog!!), I’m marrying my best friend…yeah. No more feeling sorry for myself. Not when I get to see this outside my window:

SHAZZAM! SPRING IN YO' FACE!

SHAZZAM! SPRING IN YO' FACE!

Your turn: Tell me some things about your life that are awesome. Right now. In the comments. Or I’ll jump through the computer and give you my germs.

7 Comments to “Half-marathon training: Day 24”

  1. Ew…I don’t want you germs.

    My cat is pretty awesome. Dave (my Dave, not your Dave) and I adopted her over a year ago but she has now mellowed out more and will take naps in my lap while I sit at the computer. Its pretty cute.

  2. Oh my gosh, I love the list game. I think it’d be fun to involve drinking, and maybe if you have the same choices as someone else you have to drink. Or maybe I just think every game should/could be made into a drinking game?

    I’m glad you are feeling better about things. You have tons of amazing things goin’ on right now!! Hmmm…my life is awesome because it’s almost the weekend. lol…no, it’s awesome because of my family – they would do anything for me (except maybe murder) and they all live within 10 minutes. So I bug them ALL the time and they still have to love me. (or claim to)

  3. Oooo I’m so jealous that you get to live close to the fam!

    And…yes…the list game actually debuted as a drinking game. Which made it WAY more fun. Have you read 2birds1blog? She comes up with a drinking game every Friday, which is HILAR if you ask me.

  4. I am kickass when it comes to searching on Google. My friends always come to me when they need help with something Google-related.

    HELL YES SPRING!!

  5. Awww… 🙂 Miss you!

  6. Aww… 🙂 I miss you!

  7. Ps. That last comment was under el nombre de mi esposo. Oops!

Leave a Reply

