Archive for March 25th, 2009

March 25, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 24

I woke up this morning, and it was like nature heard me saying that I was going to turn over a new leaf! The trees that have been totally barren and dead-looking since last November sprouted blooms overnight.

And it's only going to get prettier...(OR ELSE)

And it's only going to get prettier...(OR ELSE)

You can’t tell from the photo, but the skies were bright blue, too.

March 25, 2009

A flippin’ sweet game, invented by WIGGS-n-DAVE!!

I couldn’t let that Debbie Downer post be the last thing I wrote tonight…so here, for your entertainment, is a game that Dave and I invented. And it. Is. Awesome. If I’m ever asked to train people in negotiation (and let’s be honest, that’ll probably happen because I’m GREAT at bargaining), this will be the FIRST thing I make my students do.

What’s this, you ask?

scan0001

Well, I’ll tell you:

Tags:
March 25, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 23

Hopefully I'll have this much energy again soon!

Hopefully I'll have this much energy again soon!

Oh man, guys. I finally had to give into my body. The Death still has me in its chokehold, so I was forced to take my rest day today. I’m hoping that I can just have this be my day off for the week and avoid missing any workouts…but wow, I’ve rarely had a sickness keep me from training for anything. It sucks! Also, I jumped on the scale this morning to see if my 21 days of training had any effect yet…and even MORE bad news: I gained about 7 pounds and 1.5% body fat! I guess this is sort of a wakeup call for me: I need to keep a closer eye on what & how much I eat. And while we’re having a pity-party (pull out your teeny tiny violins, people) my final hope for business school was dashed on the rocks of despair today. (The short story on that is: I was wait-listed at the #1 program in the country, and given my relative youth and the amazing applicant-pool this year, I was lucky to even get as far as I did. I’m not surprised that I didn’t get in, but I was really excited about going back to school this fall.)

Man, it’s like clockwork: I turned 25 and automatically gained weight, got sick, and had a quarter-life crisis!

So. Today was my day to wallow. I moped around and watched t.v. and blew my nose and hacked up my right lung, but tomorrow I’m turning over a new leaf. I’m getting back on the horse. When I start to feel sad about business school, I’m going to channel it into running. When my Dayquil wears off, I’m going to take my booty to the kitchen and make myself a healthy, nutritious treat like green tea or warm applesauce and almond butter. When I start to fret about my weight, I’ll look in the mirror and give myself a compliment, even if it’s about something small. I refuse to let these setbacks change my attitude or my motivation.

I’ve got some fun recipes coming up this week, as well as a plan of attack for my diet and for getting over this crud – so stay tuned! In the meantime, thank you all for the support so far. Knowing that I’m sharing this journey with so many of you is keeping me from sinking into some lame, Dunkin’ Donuts-fueled, doldrummy blob.

How do you keep yourself upbeat when the going gets tough? Do you have any routines or techniques that keep you holding your head high?

Annnnnnd so ends my whining.