Archive for March 21st, 2009

March 21, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 20

Oh man you guys, today was BY FAR the best workout I’ve had! The weather was vomitously gorgeous, I was feeling excited, and I got to go with three of my most favorite people in the world. We were like a herd of awesome.

Jesse, Dave, and Molly who were nice enough to let me be the lowest common denominator (LCD), speed-wise

Jesse, Dave, and Molly who were nice enough to let me be the lowest common denominator (LCD), speed-wise

Dave and Jesse were particularly happy to be working out.

BOOYA

BOOYA

I can’t believe what a difference it makes to work out in a group! You’d think I would have figured that out earlier, since I’ve only ever been on sports teams. But it’s not the same when you’re on swimteam, because you can’t talk and laugh and sing at each other when your face is in the water. You can, however, pee in the pool, so I guess that’s what sets swimming apart from running. We ended up going about four miles (long run for the week: CHECK), broken up by a tour through Navy Pier.

This is actually the beer garden...but shhhh let's just pretend it's a pretty picture of a place where everyone keeps their morals intact...

This is actually the beer garden...but shhhh let's just pretend it's a pretty picture of a place where everyone keeps their morals intact...

The weather was ah-may-zing

The weather was ah-may-zing

Dave got into some mischief with the fountains in the greenhouse

Dave got into some mischief with the fountains in the greenhouse

So, my reason for being glad today is a no-brainer – I was blessed to be joined by dear friends who turned a hard (for me) workout into a fun day. Also I almost got killed by a bicyclist, so apparently the theme of this week’s workouts is near-death experiences.

Also, I ran into a couple of Dave’s relatives.

HAHA CANADIAN GEESE DO YOU GET IT??!?!

HAHA CANADIAN GEESE DO YOU GET IT??!?!

March 21, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 19

Okay, people, full disclosure: I am definitely still a little loopy from the medication I have to take when I go on airplanes. So…apologies.

Today, not surprisingly, was a day of rest for this little Wiglet. I woke up at 7am to finish my taxes and have a lovely goodbye breakfast with my parents, and then I headed to the ferry and began the trek to Chicago. The stomach-butterflies kicked in about halfway through my ferry-ride, and by the time I met my friends Jesse and Molly (who flew to Chicago with me and now they’re staying here!!! WOOOOOOO!!!), I was in full-fledged fight or flight mode. Every little noise or bump made the adrenaline course down my limbs, causing my extremities to tingle with an overwhelming desire to simultaneously flee for my life and deck someone with my pint-sized fist.

This is a picture I took of Molly and Jesse while they were on the train with me from the airport. I left it blurry because it's a pretty accurate depiction of how I was seeing the world by this time.

This is a picture I took of Molly and Jesse while they were on the train with me from the airport. I left it blurry because it's a pretty accurate depiction of how I was seeing the world by this time.

Here are the rest of my medicated ramblings…boy oh boy, my brain feels like cotton.