Archive for March 20th, 2009

March 20, 2009

I’m leeeeaving on a jet-plane

…so I probably won’t be able to post until late tonight. But I KNOW a lot of you out there are new readers (judging by the giant record I set the other day), so hopefully there’s enough on this little blog to keep you entertained until this evening. Also, my post tonight may or may not be hilarious because I may or may not still be feeling the affects of the medicine I have to take to keep myself from causing a scene on the airplane. Ah, fear of flying. It’s funny.

Here's a puppy picture to hold you over. Barkis thinks I'm a chicken for worrying about flying, too.

Here's a puppy picture to hold you over. Barkis thinks I'm a chicken for worrying about flying, too.

Tags:
March 20, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 18

Sadly, today was my last day chez my parents. So of COURSE my workout today had to be a hike with my mom and Barkis in the woods.

Unfortunately, the weather wasn’t being cooperative so we knew we would be trudging through some classic Pacific Northwest-style mud. You know, the kind that sucks at the soles of your shoes and smells slightly fecal? Mmm-hm. So today, my reason for being glad I worked out is that my lovely mother bought us matching Bogs boots. So comfortable, so soft, so waterproof, that I would be willing to slog through fetid, larva-infested water and not even bat a perfectly mascara-ed eyelash.

See?! Same-SAME! I love matching!

See?! Same-SAME! I love matching!

Oh, speaking of mascara, as part of the “blue” theme for my birthday, my mom gave me Benefit BADgal blue mascara and it’s amazing. I’m obsessed with black eyeliner and mascara, but I’ve been using the blue stuff for the past week and it makes my eyes look stunning! The blue is very dark, so it looks black – but it also makes the whites of my eyes appear even whiter because of its cool undertones.

I might be a lifetime convert.

I might be a lifetime convert.

WOW I totally got distracted there! But seriously. I love that mascara. And it doesn’t look as blue as the pictures imply – I can’t even tell that I’ve got navy eyelashes until I get about an inch from the mirror when I’m examining my nose pores. (My apologies to the 10 male readers of this blog for that digression.)

Anyway, back to the hike – it was about 45 minutes and we went to the secret pond.

Click here to see pictures of the last hike of my trip…sniffle sniffle…