Archive for March 19th, 2009

March 19, 2009

And the weiner is………

Congrats to Andrea, the fabulous gal behind one of my fave daily reads, Bella Eats!!! She’s going to have a character named after her in Susan Wiggs’s next Lakeshore Chronicles book, A LAKESHORE CHRISTMAS, out this October! The most recent Lakeshore book reached #1 on the New York Times best-seller list, and this one will be no different. (Fans of the series, make sure you get your hands on it because Daisy’s got some HUGE shizz going down.)

Make sure you check out Andrea’s blog – she’s a fantastic photographer who makes amazing food, plus she and I have some strange separated-at-birth-type connections (I won’t enumerate them here; you should go to her blog and see if you can pick out the similarities.)

Even Barkis gets to be a part of this book

Even Barkis gets to be a part of this book

Dudes, aren’t you all feeling sad that you didn’t enter this contest? Yep. That’s right. Now why don’t you go give yourself a paper cut and pour some lemon juice in it. JUST KIDDING, there will be many more cool contests where this one came from…I just have to dream them up.

(Oh, FYI, I used RANDOM.ORG to pick out the winner…and my head almost exploded with blondeness. What happened to good ol’ fashioned drawing numbers out of a hat?)

March 19, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 17

I dedicate today’s workout to Rachel, who reminded me to stop trying to make every workout so complicated! Earlier today I was going postal (btw Wiggs, the 90s called and they want their cliche back) about when the frick I was going to get my 20 minutes of cross-training in, and Rachel reminded me that I could just head outside for a walk. NO DOY, WIGGS (again with the 90s slang!).

So I did. I got my booty up and went for a walk around the loop that Dave and I used to run when we lived in Seattle.

I wish my camera could do this view justice...but there's no way. We used to see this every day (there's a giant volcano behind all of those clouds on the horizon, but he was feeling shy today)

I wish my camera could do this view justice...but there's no way. We used to see this scene every day (there's a giant volcano behind all of those clouds on the horizon, but it was feeling shy today)...le sigh.

I’m really happy that I took Rachel’s advice and simply went on a walk. My reason for being glad I worked out today is that I got to revisit a neighborhood spot with a lot of personal meaning for me. 

Random trivia: the Space Needle is NOT the tallest building in Seattle; it's just WAY closer to Queen Anne, which is where most photographers camp out.

Random trivia: the Space Needle is NOT the tallest building in Seattle; it's just WAY closer to Queen Anne, which is where most photographers camp out.

That said, I’m going to try to limit my use of walks as cross-training. I know that Hal Higdon says walking “is an excellent exercise that a lot of runners overlook in their training,” but I don’t feel as accomplished today, you know? A huge benefit of this training so far has been that every day, I feel great about what I did for my body. Today, the feeling is just not as intense. So…from now on, my cross-training is going to be just a leedle more vigorous! (But I’m totes cutting myself some slack because I’m out of town right now, and we all know that being on vaycay can eff with one’s training schedule.)

Are there any exercises that don’t feel very “legit” to you? Do you want to shoot me right now for saying the word “legit”?