Archive for March 18th, 2009

March 18, 2009

In honor of my pending b’day, a secret family recipe

Now, don’t get your knickers in a twist with excitement over that title. Yes, I’m going to share one of our secret family recipes with you, but it involves a box of Jell-o, Smuckers jam, and a goodly amount of oil.

When I was a wee thing (see the picture on my About Moi page), my dad’s mother – who I knew as Grand-C – made me her famous strawberry cake every year for my birthday. She would always bake it in a large, rectangular Pyrex and then serve it straight from the dish. It wasn’t super fancy, but I didn’t care. All that mattered was its unnaturally pink hue and the fact that it made my tongue shrivel with sweetness.

Well, guess what my mama made me in honor of this year’s birthday, which is on the 23rd (so you can go ahead and save your Happy B’day wishes until then, and I KNOW you’re all planning on wishing me a Happy B’day because you know that if you don’t I’ll leap through the computer and force-feed you hibachi chicken)?

Strawberry cupcakes!!!

Strawberry cupcakes!!!

Tags:
March 18, 2009

A wee reminder, plus a cry for haaaaalp!!!

Hey people. So, here’s my deal: I had to get up butt-early this morning to run some errands, and now I find myself in the Seattle Public Library for the next couple of hours, killing time before I meet a lovely friend for dinner.

This is what I'm looking at right this second.

This is what I'm looking at right this second.

But get this – I’m totally freaking out because I don’t know when I’m going to work out today! This is almost certainly one of the first times in my life that I’ve ever been worried about missing a workout. Most of the time I’m worried about finding a valid excuse for watching the Bad Girls marathon and eating salt-n-vinegar-flavored potato chips.

So, dear readers, I am turning to you: what do you do when you have a crazy, hectic day and simply don’t know how to make time for a workout? I only have to do 20 minutes of cross-training today, but I won’t be able to until late tonight. What do I dooooo! What would YOU do?

Also, a wee reminder that you have until midnight (West Coast time) tonight to enter The Beholder’s first-ever giveaway! It’s going to be amazing. AMAZING, I tell you!

Tags:
March 18, 2009

Where The Wild Things Are

Um, can we all pause for a second and talk about this? Words don’t exist for how excited I am to see this movie. Where The Wild Things Are, Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel, and Babar and the Wully-Wully are the books that defined my childhood.

where_the_wild_things_are_poster

What were your favorite books growing up?

Tags: