Archive for March 17th, 2009

March 17, 2009

Ab-solutely: Part Deux

As promised, peeps, here are some additional ab exercises that you can work into your routine. The first 13 moves are here, and I suggest that you read that post first before delving into this one. Again, some of these pictures are blurry – the weather is yuck outside so we had to take them in my mom’s living room. (p.s. how great is it to visit your parents?! So relaxing. I mean, look at that fireplace. Look at it!!) (oh, and thanks to maid-of-honor-slash-cousin Joelle for being my photographer)

Have fun trying to keep your balance on these mofos.

Have fun trying to keep your balance on these mo-fos.

A proviso: I am NOT in good abdominal shape. These pictures are intended to give you a general idea, but my form is nowhere near perfect.

And now, the exciting conclusion to How Swimmers Get Nice Abs (Or: You’re Going to be Abs-olutely GORGEOUS, Dah-ling)

March 17, 2009

Irish Soda Bread

You can thank my mom for this one. We went on a trip to Ireland to research one of her books when I was a wee girl, and I’ve been obsessed with the country ever since. One of my fave things about them is their friggin’ delicious bread. Every time we went to a pub, they’d bring us a steaming basket of it and I would eat it until I felt sick.

Welp, my mom and I nabbed the recipe. You’re welcome.

tastes better than it looks

See those clovers in the background? We like to stick to themes when we're baking.

The Wiggs Women’s Irish Soda Bread (try saying that five times fast)

Click here for the recipe!

Tags:
March 17, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 16

I reeeeeeally wanted to quit in the middle of today’s run, you guys. It was only a three-miler, and I had a great, scenic loop worked out. 

See how gorge? This is the half-way point of the run and I was WISHING that someone would come carry me home.

See how gorge? This is the half-way point of the run and I was WISHING that someone would come carry me home.

Sadly, I made the mistake of thinking that this guy would have learned his lesson after our last run/poo/falling disaster.

Click here to see more pictures and hear about the rest of this terrible, awful, no-good, very bad run.

March 17, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 15

Oh man, you guys. So today was another stretch and strengthen day for me, and for some reason I kept getting distracted and putting it off.

But then I spread my towel out on the living room floor and started doing abs…and I got a sign from Above that the Big Guy totally approved of my workout.

I'll tell you what's at the end of the rainbow: a hard-core workout

I'll tell you what's at the end of the rainbow: a hard-core workout

I mean, you don’t question something like that. Obviously, the honkin’ rainbow is my reason for being glad I worked out.

Tomorrow I’m going to write a detailed post on exactly what I did for my strength routine this evening. It will be Part Deux of the ab workout I showed you the other day. Tonight, I made sure to hit all of the major muscle groups: abs, back, arms, and legs. I’ve been feeling sore in strange places, like the the heels and arches of my feet, so I made sure to pay close attention to the way I was feeling through each move. I also spent a loooooong time stretching to minimize any soreness I feel tomorrow.

Don’t forget to enter The Beholder’s first-ever contest! It’s an awesome one, if I do say so myself. You have just over 48 hours until the deadline.

How do you modify your workouts when you’re feeling sore?