Archive for March 16th, 2009

March 16, 2009

Pumpkin Bread Pudding

***Before you read this recipe, go enter The Beholder’s first-ever contest! I pity the fool who doesn’t do it. You only have two more days!***

 

The name of this recipe reminds me of the “Before & After” category on Jeopardy.

  • Clue: Hemorrhoid remedy for an old Baltimore Sun essayist.
  • Response: What is Preparation H. L. Mencken? (joining Preparation H and H. L. Mencken) (from Wikipedia)
  • blog-pictures-0371

  • Clue: Gourdy version of a Sunbeam product that uses up your stale loaf.
  • Response: What is Pumpkin Bread Pudding?
  •  

    Click here to read the recipe, dawg.

    Tags:
    March 16, 2009

    How to go from being a lard-ass on the couch to…NOT a lard-ass

    I’ve gotten a couple of questions from you readers about how to start running if you’ve never had any formal coaching. As someone who was accustomed to the gentle, fluid motion of gliding through the water, my first couple of runs (if you could call them that; they were more like slightly bouncy walks) were friggin’ terrible. Dave (very sweetly) ran with me and whenever I started to lag, he would say something upbeat like “Come on, Wiggs, just ten more minutes!” I feel bad for saying so, but most of the time his encouragement, at least in the early days, would just make me feel guilty because 10 minutes sounded like torture to me.

    blog-pictures-0392

    Dave took these pictures one day when we were playing tag (which, incidentally, is a GREAT way to get a run in without feeling like you're working out)

    It got to the point where, when we were running together and I started to feel the death creeping up my legs, I would let out a huge fake-grunt of pain, pretend to stumble, and flail myself to the ground – and then Dave would be all worried that I was hurt and I would get to stop running. I quickly realized that I couldn’t fake-fall every time I got tired, though. Dave was starting to suspect foul play, especially one time when I pretended that my right knee gave out and then proceeded to limp on my left leg. Oopsies! So I decided to figure out a way to deal with the pain of getting back into shape without preying on my man’s concern for my safety.

    Click here to read more about how I managed to go from being a ex-swimteam slug on the couch to deciding to train for a half-marathon.