Archive for March 15th, 2009

March 15, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day 14

I kind of got duped. I was TOLD that today’s St. Patty’s Day Dash would be a 5k (3.1 miles), but last night I found out that the race officials changed the course to a 3.89 mile loop. Now, I know that to most of you, .79 of a mile is small beans, but for me it’s a goodly chunk. A goodly chunk, indeed.

That said, this was probably the best run I’ve done since I started training for the half-marathon because I got to do the whole thing with two of my best friends in the whole world, Molly and Jesse.

Oh, and did I mention that it was snowing? In Seattle? In March? And the flakes were the size of hamsters? And they splatted on my shoes and filled them with water? And I got hit in the face by one and it broke my nose? Yeah.

Me tottering down Molly and Jesse's steep-ass driveway at the butt-crack of dawn

Me tottering down Molly and Jesse's steep-ass driveway at the butt-crack of dawn

Despite the crap weather, the race was packed with people who had been drinking since 6:30am. So you can imagine the awesomeness. I think Molly and I got a contact-buzz.

We were jumping for friggin' joy even though we were freezing our 'tocks off

We were jumping for friggin' joy even though we were freezing our 'tocks off

I gotta say – I have some incred friends. Molly and Jesse are both fast runners, but they stayed with me the whole time, even when we got passed by a three-legged chihuahua.

Jesse was very perturbed that neither Molly nor I wore green, but I think it made us look like rebels

Jesse was very perturbed that neither Molly nor I wore green, but I think it made us look like rebels

So, day 14 of my half-marathon training was a success. I’d just like to point out that in each of these pictures I’m moving so fast that I’m blurry. My final time was 44 minutes and a handful of seconds (roughly 11:30 miles). And you can keep your amazed congratulations to yourself – I know how em-effing fast that is. At the end of the race the US track coach pulled me aside and asked me to join the Olympic team, but I told him I’d have to think about it.

Anyway, if you’re training for a race right now, I highly recommend entering a fun, shorter one like this. The crowd was hilarious and full of energy (and booze) – it got me all excited for the half. Okay, maybe I’m not excited for the half…but I don’t feel the uncontrollable urge to cry when I think about running it.