Archive for March 13th, 2009

March 13, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day twelve

Today I decided to do my cross-train day for the week, and of COURSE I went on a hike with my mom and her dog. I love visiting my freakin’ parents! So my reason for being glad I worked out today: getting to be surrounded by a beautiful forest and have a nice long chat with the mother-lode herself, Susan Marie Wiggs (but you can call her Mommy) (no you can’t, only Barkis and I can).

There's my mama!

There's my mama!

The hike lasted for 90 minutes, and I have no clue how far we went – probably in the whereabouts of 5 or 6 miles. I was huffing and puffing the whole time, which made it hard to gossip with my mom. (Don’t worry, though, NOTHING can keep me from gossiping.)

Click here for more pictures of our hike…

March 13, 2009

Breakfast

Oh man you guys, my mom made me the most delicious breakfast this morning.

Don't drool on your keyboard, please

Don't drool on your keyboard, please

She made semolina breakfast cake and put fresh strawberries over it. The semolina cake was delicious – very moist and light with just a touch of sweetness. To make it, dump 4 cups of milk into a pan over medium heat. As soon as the milk starts to steam, add 4.5 ounces of semolina flour in a thin stream, stirring constantly. Then add 6 tablespoons of sugar. Keep stirring for 10 minutes while brainstorming the title of your next book with your daughter, then pour into an oiled 8×8 pan and shove it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes (until it’s firm and the top is golden-brown). While it’s baking, realize that your daughter is a genius because she came up with an AMAZING book title and tell her she TOTALLY deserves the wedding shoes you gave her yesterday

When the cake is done, cut it into 2″ by 2″ squares. Can be served hot or cold. Best enjoyed while a doberman watches you eat.

My baby brother, Barkis

My baby brother, Barkis

REMINDER! Don’t forget to enter The Beholder’s first contest! Leave a comment at this post and you’ll win a chance to have a character named after you (even if your name is Ongina LaDouche) in bestselling author Susan Wiggs’s next book.

Also, a mini-update on my half-marathon training: I’ll get all of my workouts in this week, but just in a different order. Today will be my cross-training day (instead of tomorrow). And I have HUGE plans for this workout, so make sure you check back. I’m bringing my mom’s nice camera with me and it will BLOW YOUR MIND. (I threaten to blow your mind a lot here on The Beholder. You’re welcome.)

Tags: ,
March 13, 2009

I still have my feet on the ground; I just wear better shoes

…so sayeth the great and powerful Oprah Winfrey.

REMINDER! Don’t forget to enter The Beholder’s first contest! Leave a comment at this post and you’ll win a chance to be a character in New York Times bestselling author Susan Wiggs’s next book. This is for serious. Even if your name is Poo Poo LaRou (which, if you are: awesome). You’ll be a character in a novel that will be read by thousands and thousands of peeps.

Today my amazing mother gave me my birthday present: the wedding shoes that I’ve been coveting but have not been able to afford. And I know it’s lame to get excited over something like shoes, but PEOPLE. COME ON. LOOK AT THEM.

You barely even notice how hairy my legs are! Such is the magic of The Shoes.

You barely even notice how hairy my legs are! Such is the magic of The Shoes.

Even cuter, she got herself the same pair in a different color so we can match.

I LOVE using my mom's camera. I think I took about 47 photos of her shoes just because I didn't want to stop using it.

I LOVE using my mom's camera. I think I took about 47 photos of her shoes just because I didn't want to stop using it.

They are SO. COMFORTABLE. Seriously, if I didn’t have to keep them looking nice for the wedding day, I’d probably go on a hike wearing them. They’re not very wedding-y, so I highly advise grabbing yourself a pair if, like me, you avoid heels like the plague because the pain that they cause makes you want to saw your feet off. Want a pair for yourself (you’re lying if you answer “no” to that question)? Click here.

Tags: