Just in time for St. Patty’s Day: Irish Car Bomb cupcakes

february-2009-004My three best girlfriends went in on the KitchenAid Stand Mixer for me for my wedding. I named her Salma. These cupcakes were Salma’s and my maiden voyage together. They are so em-effing delicious that if you don’t make them this weekend, you’re a fool. And the spirit of Saint Patrick will smite you.

My friends, I present to you Smitten Kitchen’s Car Bomb Cupcakes. I was so excited that I took an annoyingly large number of pictures, so you’ll have to bear with me.

First, let me just point out that any recipe that begins like this is sure to be grade-A awesome (and I didn’t even have the whiskey in this shot):

february-2009-022

I followed Deb’s instructions very closely because I was terrified that I would royally eff up my first KitchenAid experience. So I don’t have a ton to add. Just pictures and obsessive drooling. In fact, I feel bad re-printing the ingredients because I didn’t really alter anything. Just head to her website if you feel like making these.

february-2009-0231

I made these during Chicago’s freak warm weather – so I got to cool the cupcakes by the open window! Trust me, it was exciting. You don’t even know. My whole condo smelled even MORE cupcakey than I ever dreamed possible.

february-2009-058

february-2009-039

Unlike Deb, I do not own (nor could I find) a one-inch round cookie cutter. So I pulled out my grapefruit spoon, and it worked pretty darn well. Maybe the holes I dug weren’t as uniform, but in the end, that didn’t matter. I went even deeper into each cupcake than she did – I could almost see the cupcake wrapper through the bottom on some of them.

february-2009-0471

february-2009-048

Once I dug out the middles of the cupcakes, I made the ganache. The most satisfying part of making the ganache was chopping the chocolate. It was so crunchy!

february-2009-031

I (obviously) took Deb’s optional suggestion of adding a teaspoon of whiskey to the filling. It ended up tasting like a dream (and that’s saying a lot, since I don’t like chocolate). I could just taste the whiskey at the end, and it made my throat the teeniest bit warm.

february-2009-053

Earlier in the week, I stopped into Crate & Barrel, aka my personal Nirvana, to update our registry. I knew I would be making these cupcakes, so you can imagine my excitement when I found these little squirt bottles with different piping attachments. I picked up two different-shaped nozzles; one for the ganache and one for the icing. This picture’s colors are off (annoying) so it’s not that pretty, but you get the idea.

february-2009-061

Here’s a prettier picture of the ganache (I KNOW, I’M ROLLING MY EYES AT MYSELF TOO). One thing to note: I ended up having to make a second batch of the ganache because the first round only filled half my cupcakes. I don’t know if this is because I made the holes too big or what. But they turned out perfectly and I would do it the exact same way the next time.

february-2009-062

After that, I hand-washed Salma’s bowl and whipped up the buttercream frosting. I don’t think I ended up using more than three cups of powdered sugar, although I wasn’t really measuring. Also, I accidentally put the Bailey’s Irish Cream in before I added the sugar (instead of after the frosting was made), but the icing was still amazing.

february-2009-0021

When that was done, I laid my cupcakes out on plates and used my cheese grater to shave some leftover chocolate over the top of them. I think they’re so pretty.

february-2009-010

The recipe made enough frosting to cover the top of each cupcake in one layer (you can probably tell that I did a spiral on each one, starting at the outer edge and moving toward the center). Deb said she didn’t want more than that, and I can see why – but since I’m not a huge fan of intense chocolate, I wouldn’t have whined if there were a mountain of buttercream on top of each cupcake.

february-2009-012

And the result? Holy crumb.

Tags:

2 Comments to “Just in time for St. Patty’s Day: Irish Car Bomb cupcakes”

  1. WOW, those looking AMAZING!!!!

  2. Wiggs, these cupcakes are be-U-tiful!!! I love the first photo. And, another twin moment…I have the Kitchenaid Pro600 too and LOVE it!!!

Leave a Reply

