Archive for March 11th, 2009

March 11, 2009

Just in time for St. Patty’s Day: Irish Car Bomb cupcakes

february-2009-004My three best girlfriends went in on the KitchenAid Stand Mixer for me for my wedding. I named her Salma. These cupcakes were Salma’s and my maiden voyage together. They are so em-effing delicious that if you don’t make them this weekend, you’re a fool. And the spirit of Saint Patrick will smite you.

My friends, I present to you Smitten Kitchen’s Car Bomb Cupcakes. I was so excited that I took an annoyingly large number of pictures, so you’ll have to bear with me.

Tags:
March 11, 2009

Half-marathon training: day 10

Woot! Double-digits! Today was a 2.0 mile/crosstrain day, and I was feeling great so I decided to do a 2-mile run at 6.0 mph. Then, because the music I was listening to was so AWESOME, I bumped it up to 6.4 mph for about ten minutes until I felt like I was going to keel over.

Who wears short shorts?! WIGGS wears short shorts!!

Who wears short shorts?! WIGGS wears short shorts!!

My reason for being glad I worked out today is a good ‘un, if I do say so myself. I convinced myself to wear my short-shorts – the ones that I haven’t worn since I was a swimmer in college – and the whole time I was running I was thinking, “Damn, Wiggs, your legs are lookin’ goooood!” I weighed myself this morning and I haven’t lost any weight (or body fat – my scale does both), so I think that this feeling of self-confidence is just the result of working hard for the past 10 days and knowing that I’m going to be getting better and better.

To document my awesome leg day, I took a picture. Right before the camera clicked (it was on a self-timer), the light in the room got all pink – I guess from a cloud or something – and I felt like the heavens were saying to me, “You GO, girl!”

I look like a real athlete today! Sort of?

I look like a real athlete today! Sort of?

 So, the stats on my workout:

March 11, 2009

When my heart pounds, I’m burning calories

…at least, that’s what I’m trying to tell myself. I’ve got a confession to make. I’ve alluded to this a bit in the past couple of days, but I didn’t come right out and say it: I have a very severe phobia of flying. I don’t know why; when I was little I loved to fly. But as soon as I became aware of my own mortality, the concept of being hurled through the sky and god-knows-how-fast makes my insides curdle with fear.

Ulgh, I can't look at this without feeling like I'm going upchuck

Ulgh, I can't look at this without feeling like I'm going upchuck

Every time I fly it gets worse – not better, as many fearful flyers have reported – so I know that eventually I’m going to have to do something drastic. I’m heading out (alone – holy crap) to Seattle tomorrow and for the past three days I’ve been an insomniac because every time I close my eyes I start to panic. Last night, Dave was up into the wee hours of the morning working on a paper and he came into our bedroom to find me in crying in a snotty ball on the bed! Isn’t that sad? It’s embarrassing how lame I am.

So, in addition to training for my half-marathon, I’ve decided that by the time I run the race, I also want to have found a way to beat this phobia. It’s not enough to just get my body in shape – I need to get myself mentally well, too, especialy when I have an anxiety disorder that is affecting my quality of life. Now I just have to figure out where to start…do any of you know how fearful flyers have gotten better?

Are there any ways you would like to get YOUR mind or mental state in better “shape”?

Tags:
March 11, 2009

No harm in trying

aim-high

(via Cute Overload – if you have been living under a rock and don’t know what that is, click the link and prepare to have your mind blown.)

Tags:
March 11, 2009

I have no choice! The Bachelor refuses to die!

So here I was, all innocently ready to watch America’s Next Top Model and forget all about Jason “Jerk of the World” Mesnick, and then I find out that Melissa joins Dancing With The Stars? The one reality show that I DON’T like?!

Of course, now I HAVE to watch it. I’m not gonna like it, but I think it’s clear that I don’t have a choice in the matter. They even used her picture from The Bachelor because they didnt’ have time for a photoshoot before she had to go on the show!

Melissa's photo from The Bachelor

Melissa's photo from The Bachelor

...and her photo from Dancing With The Stars

...and her photo from Dancing With The Stars

Melissa was chosen last-minute to join the cast of Dancing With The Stars because Nancy O’Dell dropped out four days prior to the premier due to injury. And she did pretty well! Please, to observe:

Click here to see Melissa on Dancing With The Stars, as well as a sneak peek of what Jason and Molly were up to this week (I won’t lie; it’s pretty rich. Pret-ty rich.)