Archive for March 10th, 2009

March 10, 2009

My guilty pleasure

I guess I’m pretty good at cooking, but sometimes I just don’t feel like making anything. Also, I have a microwave popcorn addiction.

The kernels of the gods

The kernels of the gods

Lucky for me, in one bag of one bag of Orville Redenbacher SmartPop popcorn only contains 222 calories and it’s high in fiber. Sure, maybe you’ll get popcorn lung from eating it, but it takes less than 4 minutes to prepare, and in a pinch it can replace lunch or dinner if you’re not too hungry (not every day, though, much to my chagrin).

Popcorn, if you're wrong, I don't wanna be right.

Popcorn, if you're wrong, I don't wanna be right.

Here’s how I prepare my popcorn: after microwaving it, I dump it in a bowl. Then I pull out butter-flavored Pam and spray a thin coat over the top of the popcorn. Next, I shake a sprinkle of Kernel Season’s White Cheddar flavor over the popcorn and stir it with a wooden spoon. I do that about four or five times, so that all of the popcorn has a chance to get seasoned. And people, lemme tell you. It’s dee-licious. Yes, I know it’s ridonkulously high in sodium, but every once in a while I just can’t resist. Okay, more than every once in a while. Okay, maybe I buy case-fulls of my white cheddar seasoning.

I'm on a first-name basis with the people at Kernel Season's

I'm on a first-name basis with the people at Kernel Season's

What quick, low-calorie snacks do you grab when you don’t feel like cooking?

Tags: ,
March 10, 2009

To boldly go where no Wiggs has gone before

Oh, my lord, you guys, I am TOTALLY GEEKING OUT RIGHT NOW. Breeeathe…breeeathe…

So guess. what. I. did. for. lunch. today.

Me and George Takei!!!

Me and George Takei!!!

I MET MR. SULU!!! Dude. It was amazing. HE is amazing. See how strained I am in the picture above? It’s because I’m trying to keep my skull from exploding with excitement.

He came to Northwestern Law School today to talk about his life as a Japanese-American, gay actor.

If my camera didn't blow chunks, you'd be able to see how close I was!

If my camera didn't blow chunks, you'd be able to see how close I was!

As Dave’s fiance, I got to sneak in, grab a seat in the FRONT ROW (that’s right, I made eye contact with him like fifteen or sixteen times!), and gorge myself on pad thai while he told us about his experiences.

I’m about to get all serious and preachy, so only read more if you can stomach some political opinions.

Tags: ,
March 10, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day nine

Three words sum up the reason I’m glad I worked out at the ass-crack of dawn this morning: Agent Jack Bauer.

The epitome of gravelly-voiced manliness

The epitome of gravelly-voiced manliness

Click here to read about my workout this morning…

March 10, 2009

The Bachelor Jason Mesnick on Ellen: “Thank you for watching, but this was my real life.”

…Um. How do you even respond to that? “Thank you for watching, but this was my real life.” So…since it was your real life…we’re supposed to pardon you for being a douche? His apologies sound so fake. Who the eff is he apologizing to? Apologize to yourself for being such a tool. I don’t need his phony “I’m sorry” b.s., I just need him to fade away, like a fart floating on the wind.

Click here to read my rant!