Archive for March 9th, 2009

March 9, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day eight

Today was a big day for me. It was the first time I ever – in my entire life – did strength training without being told to by a coach or a personal trainer. It was strangely satisfying! Except for the part where I was doing lunges and I got to number twelve and literally forgot what number comes next. I’m not exaggerating. I did number twelve and then paused and thought…wait. What comes next? Eleven? …no… Fourteen? …no…

It was a low point for me, I’m not gonna lie.

In addition to being proud of myself for my strength training, today my reason for being glad I worked out is my giant towel. Look at it! I did my sit-ups and pushups on it, and let me tell you, I felt like a princess. A princess who owns an absurdly large towel. (It’s the little things that make the difference, people.)

I tried to have my legs in it so you can see how big it is, but I don't think it worked very well. My towel is 5'x6'! Huge. HUGE!

I tried to have my legs in it so you can see how big it is, but I don't think it worked very well. My towel is 5'x6'! Huge. HUGE!

 I don’t think you understand. It’s so big I could build a tent out of it and live comfortably in it with Dave and our three children. I could use it to replace the sails of the Nina, the Pinta, and the Santa Maria and STILL have some left over for doing sit-ups on. I could make almost one-eighth of a pair of pants for Rush Limbaugh out of it. So, towel, I’m glad you’re in my life.

Click here to see what I did for my strength routine, and to hear my playlist!

March 9, 2009

I got blogged!

I sent my WAAAAALT commercial to the hilarious folks at Videogum, thinking they’d get a tickle out of it, and they posted it! I’m so honored. Deeply, deeply honored. (Any Videogum fans who found me via that post – feel free to read the About Moi page if you’re curious about this blog. And welcome!)

Tags:
March 9, 2009

A prettier(ish) picture of my meringues from last night

Hm, these just don’t photograph that well, I guess. But anyway, as promised, here’s a picture of the meringues from last night. They’re still friggin delicious, if you were wondering.

The mint one is in the background...I would definitely use more food coloring next time.

The mint one is in the background...I would definitely use more food coloring next time.

Tags:
March 9, 2009

WAAAAAALT!!!

Dave and I are huge Lost fans (well, we were during the first season…now we hate it because it never answers any questions and a good 50% of the show is reaction shots) (seriously, the next time you watch the show, pay attention to how often the camera zooms in on someone’s face for like 10 silent seconds while they react to something; it’s ridonkulous).

Anyway, I was doing my morning work and The View was on in the background. I happened to look up during a commercial break and see this:

That’s Walt! The promising little boy who was so sweet in the first season! He’s been back to the show a few times, but he has aged faster than the show moves so they had to come up with a reason to get rid of him (side-note: do you think the producers invented the whole time-travel thing because of Walt hitting puberty? Or do you think that they planned on it all along?)

I’m not one to film my own t.v. (yes I am) but I had to show you because it makes me sad. That kid should have had his pick of acting jobs, and now he’s in a commercial for Tyson Anytizers? Sad. I feel bad for him.

March 9, 2009

The spammer has better manners than I do

So I just logged onto my WordPress account and there was a new comment on my meringue post. The weird part was, it was from me…and it was a repeat of a comment that I made last night, only at the end it said, “Sorry – I forgot to say that I can’t wait to read your next post!” For a second I was thinking, uh-oh, did the poltergeist from YouTube come for me? Then I looked at this “Wiggs” doppelganger’s URL and it was givingwomenorg@sms-dot-com (I’m not going to write it out because I think that will attract new spammers) and I started to put two and two together…the spammer found my blog because the word org@sm was in the title of my post and she had posted as me, only with a naughty website. But what was notable was that she made me even more polite than I normally am (which is not very). So, spammers, if you’re out there – thanks for teaching me some manners. Maybe next time you’ll just post as yourself! If you say something relevant (and don’t pretend to be me) I might even let your comment through – if not your creepy URL.

March 9, 2009

Chocolate-dipped mint meringues (or, an orgasm for your mouth)

Dude, I have been having a LOT of luck this weekend with making up recipes. Today I give you (drumroll)… 28-calorie cookies!!! And what’s even better, you’ll spend more time reading this post than you will in the kitchen! Yes, yes, I’ll accept accolades and any cash donations you feel like making.

Yesterday, my friend Lindsey asked me if I had any bright ideas for St. Patrick’s Day-appropriate food. That got me to thinking about what green treats I could make…and then SHAZZAM! It hit me. I had an egg white left over from the Cookies from On-High, some Creme de Menthe sitting around, and some dark chocolate from my Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes (which I will be posting later this week – another good one for St. Patty’s day)…I could make chocolate-dipped mint meringues!

It's so pretty, too

It's so pretty, too

 Apparently meringues are very finnicky and difficult to make, and everyone and their mother says that you shouldn’t attempt them on a rainy day. So say the experts. My reply is: suck it, beyotches, my meringues were friggin’ awesome and I had no CLUE what I was doing the whole time! Dave ate them and said, “You should change the name of your blog to ‘My meringues are effing awesome dot wordpress dot com.'”

Heeeere comes the recipe!

Tags: ,