Archive for March 8th, 2009

March 8, 2009

For those of you who haven’t seen it…

This video made me die a little bit with the hilarity.

Tags:
March 8, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day seven

I did it! I feel silly for being so excited that I managed to get my lazy ‘tocks up to the weight room and walk on the treadmill for 30 minutes, but that was a big feat for me today. I even came up with a reason for being glad I worked out! (I know that I’m required to come up with a reason for being glad every day, but today I didn’t know if it was going to happen.) See, I’m deathly afraid of many things, one of which is the dark. But I managed to overcome that fear (along with my morning ennui) and brave this:

Don't pretend you wouldn't be a little bit freaked.

Don't pretend you wouldn't be a little bit freaked.

So I’m feeling pretty proud of myself! This was my first time since starting the training that I was tempted to completely skip my workout, and I’m so glad that I didn’t!

Click here to see the stats of my workout, as well as so cool (I think) pictures of the crazy fog today!

March 8, 2009

Falling off the wagon

Oh, friends. I don’t know what it is – the time-change, lack of sleep, gray weather, anxiety (I’m a fearful flyer and I have a trip coming up on Thursday) – but I woke up this morning wearing blah suede shoes. See? I can’t even be clever. Blah suede shoes? What is that? I’m supposed to do 30 minutes of cross-training today and I just can’t get the energy up to go do it. And it’s only 30 minutes! Lack of motivation can truly be paralyzing.

Also, I ate leftover pad thai for breakfast. Not good. Not good at all.

My soul feels as empty as this greasy pad thai takeout container.

My soul feels as empty as this greasy pad thai takeout container.

 I had all of these big plans for my day! But then I woke up to dark skies and one less hour, and next thing I knew I’d been sitting on my couch watching Millionaire Matchmaker for three hours.

But as soon as I hit “publish” on this post, I’m going to go strap on my shoes and go for a walk on the treadmill. It will probably be boring, but I’ll feel happy that I did it. And I’m dedicating it to you, dear readers, because you’ve all been so lovely and supportive since I started sharing my journey with you.

What do you do when you have the ‘blahs’? How do you keep yourself in the moment?

March 8, 2009

Inspiration

inspiration

I’m obsessed with collecting quotes and little pieces of wisdom. Here are three of my favorites. Share some of yours in the comments!

After all these years, I see that I was mistaken about Eve in the beginning; it is better to live outside the Garden with her than inside it without her.
Adam’s Diary by Mark Twain

It is never too late to be what we might have been.
George Eliot

I must learn to love the fool in me–the one who feels too much, talks too much, takes too many chances, wins sometimes and loses often, lacks self-control, loves and hates, hurts and gets hurt, promises and breaks promises, laughs and cries. It alone protects me against that utterly self-controlled, masterful tyrant whom I also harbor and who would rob me of human aliveness, humility, and dignity but for my fool.
Theodore I. Rubin

(photo)

Tags: