Archive for March 7th, 2009

March 7, 2009

Half-marathon training: Day six

Welp, folks, today was my first “long” run for my half-marathon training program: 4 whole miles. (I know what you’re all saying right now: “Wiggs, that’s NOT a long run!” But for me it is – the farthest I’ve ever gone, ever, is 5.5 miles or so. So cut me some slack!) I was actually supposed to do my long run tomorrow, but the weather was so creepy (I love creepy weather) and Dave offered to come with me. I didn’t feel like I was working my ‘tocks off and I could still hold a conversation with My One the whole time, but it turns out that we were running 10-minute miles! That’s the same speed that made me want to punch myself in the face on Tuesday. Dave said that running on a treadmill always feels harder than running on land, and I definitely agree with him.

Alas, I forgot my little camera - but this picture is a good depiction of what it was like out there

Alas, I forgot my little camera - but this picture is a good depiction of what it was like out there

I had many, many reasons to be glad for my run this morning. But since I’m only picking one reason per workout, I’ll say it was the weather. Right now, the fog is thick as pea soup. When you walk around in it, you can feel it on your eyeballs. Every couple of minutes there’s a loud clap of thunder (like in Poltergeist!). While I was running I felt so cool and badass that I didn’t even notice how sweaty I was getting! And I never sweat. So that’s a big deal.

This is what I see right now when I look out the window. See what I mean about it being Creepy McCreepersons outside? It was only 1pm when I took this!

This is what I see right now when I look out the window. See what I mean about it being Creepy McCreepersons outside? It was only 1pm when I took this!

At the half-way point of our run, I said to Dave, “Would you mind if we walked for a sec once we turn around?” I was expecting a hearty refusal, but instead he said, “Sure, if you like.” Immediately, I said, “Nevermind, let’s just keep going.” And we kept the same pace for the rest of the workout. I’ve realized that if I allow myself to slow down or rest – if I say to myself, “Wiggs, it’s okay to take a breather. Just go for another minute [or some other short-term benchmark] and then you can slow down,” – I actually end up not taking any rest. On the other hand, for example, if I say to myself, “Don’t slow down! Don’t stop! You can’t!” then it’s all I can think about and ultimately my workout is worse for it. I asked Dave what he does when he feels like he wants to stop and he says that he “bargains” with himself. Example: “If I keep going at this pace, I’m going to have a great day.” He told me that his cross-country teammates would basically insult themselves into working harder: “You’re better than this. You suck if you slow down.” I think it’s interesting how people keep pushing forward when they start to feel the urge to lag.

Your turn, my friends: what do you say to yourself when you feel like you want to stop? How do you keep yourself working hard when boredom or pain or frustration nips at your heels?

March 7, 2009

Aubrey Atlas, How do I love thee?

People, will you please LOOK at how AMAZING my wedding invitations are?! No words. I’m speechless. (A rarity, as you can tell.) I’m so excited that I get to watch them in progress on her blog! That’s just one of the millions and gazillions of things that I love about Atlas & Campbell. You’re jealous, right? I’m almost jealous, and they’re MINE!

SHAZZAM! Best wedding invitations...ever

SHAZZAM! Best wedding invitations...ever

To the left, you can see the untrimmed threads – Aubrey is individually hand-sewing each invitation. Yeah. I get a lump in my throat thinking about it. I can’t say how grateful I am to have wedding vendors like Atlas & Campbell who are so easy and fun to work with.

Tags:
March 7, 2009

It’s 11pm: Do you know where your Wiggs is?

So I was sitting there on the couch last night, sipping a VLS (vodka-lime-n-soda…it’s basically a vodka/soda with a ton of lime juice in it and it is delicious), when suddenly the heavens opened and a booming voice rolled over the landscape: “WIGGS. YOU SHALL BAKE SOME FRIGGIN’ DELICIOUS COOKIES RIGHT NOW. YOU SHALL USE THE TOFFEE CHIPS THAT YOU BOUGHT ON IMPULSE THE OTHER DAY AND ALSO THAT SPELT FLOUR THAT YOU HAVE SITTING AROUND. WHY DID YOU BUY THAT, BY THE WAY? THAT WAS WEIRD. YOU DON’T EVEN KNOW WHAT SPELT IS. ANYWAY. I GOTTA RUN. I HAVE SOME SMITING TO DO.”

Cookies from on-high

And she saw that the cookies were good.

Well. You don’t ignore something like that. So, drink in hand, I skittered into the kitchen and produced what are quite possibly the best cookies I’ve ever tasted. And it’s my own recipe for once!
Click here to read the recipe, s’il vous plait.

Tags: