Archive for March 6th, 2009

March 6, 2009

10 reasons I love Canadians: From ‘eh’ to ‘zed’

You may or may not know that I am marrying a Canadian. That’s right – in five months’ time, I’ll be a Canuck by marriage. I know a lot of us Yanks like to make fun of our little sister to the north, but I gotta say: since getting to know the maple-lovers, I’m kind of smitten. (Random: Look at this kid on Yahoo trying to “understand” Canadians. See, Americans are trying. We’re just ignorant about the ways of your people.)

So get in the line-up, grab a nice cold glass of homo milk, count your loonies, put on your touque, and don’t be a hoser. Canadians are totally sweet. Here are the 10 reasons I love ’em.

Reason 1: Their Prime Minister Foreign Minister (thanks Kelsey!) probably got jiggy with our Secretary of State. I say “probably” but I actually believe it. I mean, if the NY Times covered it…then it has to be true. Anyway, I don’t blame Condi. Canadians are hot and extremely polite, if I do say so myself.

You could cut the sexual tension with a knife!

You could cut the sexual tension with a knife!

Reason 2: Trebek.

trebek

I'll take "Sexy Moustaches" for four-hundred, Alex.

Click here to read the rest of the reasons for Canada’s supreme awesomeness

Tags:
March 6, 2009

Half-marathon training: day five

…and on the fifth day, Wiggs rested. I’m so excited for my rest day! And actually I’ve had a good sign: I sort of feel like working out. I don’t want to go run ten miles or anything, but I could totally go for a light jog. That said, I don’t think I’m going to, because I want to keep my rest days holy. Plus, I’ll be even more motivated tomorrow for my 30 minutes of cross-training.

Even on rest days I’m going to come up with a reason to be glad for my training program. Today, my reason is my nest. Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve been making nests. I’m super OCD about being tidy, but when I park myself somewhere, it becomes a little jumble of everything I’ve been doing that day. My mom jokes that you can put together a timeline of my day if you ever come upon one of my nests and I’m not there. So today, in honor of having a lighter workload (physically and professionally), I am dedicating my “workout” to my nest. I’m glad I got to make one.

My little nest

Breakfast and lunch dishes, water, my blanket, my laptop, and some writing that I'm working on

True story: as soon as I got up to take this picture, I cleaned up. Crap! Oh well. It was nice while it lasted.

March 6, 2009

“Before” pictures

For extra motivation, I got Dave to take “before” pictures of me last night. I’m actually glad that I have them, because I finally get to see my body from all angles without having to futz around with two mirrors and awkward neck-craning techniques.

And though I love you all very much, I will not be posting these pictures…at least not until I have “after” shots, too. However, I know how obnox that is (since I’m writing about it and all) so I traced the images with a black pen to give you an idea. And NO I am NOT going to put them on the front page of my blog. You’ll have to click the “Read more” link to see my hotness. UPDATE: OKAY FINE I’ll put them on the front page. You’re right, all you people who emailed me, I should own my “before” body and be excited about what’s in store for it in the months ahead.

Here are the images. Yes, I know that my butt looks square and all I can really say is that I think it looks that way in person, too. My butt is actually the part of my body that gets the most compliments (no clue why, since it’s my least favorite part), so apparently there’s a square-butt revolution going on. Just call me Grand Mistress Quadrilateralbuttockia.

I have pretty severe scoliosis, so that's why I look like I'm leaning to my left (don't you feel sorry for me?! Maybe I should go on America's Next Top Model.

I have pretty severe scoliosis, so that's why I look like I'm leaning to my right (don't you feel sorry for me?! Maybe I should go on America's Next Top Model.

The reason I’m posting this is because I’m hoping that you’ll all see that I’m a pretty normal gal. I don’t love working out (yet), I’m a bit of a nutritional novice, and I have some goals for myself that are going to be hard to achieve. But if you follow along, you’ll get to see the progress I make – and hopefully you’ll be making progress, too! (And when you’re not seeing my progress, you’ll read my rants about television and hear about what I’m cooking in the kitchen.) Let’s learn together. Cue sappy music

Click here to read my little body-image exercise that you can try tonight!

March 6, 2009

What to do with old tomatoes

By popular demand, here’s a recipe I wrote back in the early days of Figs & Wigs. I made this for a dinner party last week and everyone was blown away (which is funny because a howler monkey could do it). This will work with a very small amount of olive oil, so if you’re watching your calories, just use enough to lightly coat the surfaces of the tomatoes.

We’ve been really bad lately about polishing off our produce. I think it’s because Chicago grocery stores do this weird thing where they pre-package their veggies and then price them as a unit (rather than by weight? I’m not sure). The result is that if you need six tomatoes and the store only has a four-pack, you’re going home with eight tomatoes.

So…that’s sorta what happened to us, I guess. No it’s not. I’m lying. I just impulse bought a crap-ton of tomatoes. And I opened the fridge today to see a bunch of soft, lumpy tomatoes that would be disgusting to eat raw (unless you’re Dave, who will eat just about anything unless he’s allergic to it).

blog-pictures-0011

This is a little easy trick that my mom taught me. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Take all of the tomatoes you have no use for (or even the ones you have; this is friggin’ delicious). Halve them and stick ’em in a rimmed dish of some sort.

Tags:
March 6, 2009

Melissa’s only interview (The Bachelor)

…on Ellen! God, I love Ellen. She’s incred.

So I know I promised that I wouldn’t write anymore, but I know that some of you are following the saga and we must get closure, to borrow a phrase from Melissa herself.

Here are my thoughts: