Archive for March 4th, 2009

March 4, 2009

My last post on The Bachelor (maybe) (okay, probably) (unless something else happens that makes me freak out)

I’ll keep this brief: the emails exchanged between Melissa and Jason after he dumped her on television have been leaked. You can read them here. Also, the creator of the show totally screwed Jason (or exposed him, depending on how you look at it) and said that he was never contractually obligated to break up with Melissa on the air. So, yeah, he’s a classless pig. Says Reality Steve:

He’s proposed to two different women in a year, and is now working on his 3rd “girlfriend” in that time. I’d say he’s a little fickle.

You know how in history class, we read letters exchanged by historical figures? I remember reading the letters Napoleon wrote Josephine. I wonder if kids 150 years from now will be studying emails like this. That would be hilarious. I sure hope that when you go to heaven (or wherever) you can still spy on the world. I’d get some good laughs out of that.

Napoleon and Josephine's divorce was a scandal in its day...Jason should have thought of that before he exposed his lame-o ways.

Napoleon and Josephine's divorce was a scandal in its day...Jason should have thought of that before he exposed his lame-o ways.

Napoleon and Josephine had a public divorce – sound familiar? – that everyone and their mom knew about in advance. Hm. And Jason’s not even, like, an emperor or anything. So he really doesn’t have much going for him. At least Napoleon had a political legacy. From PBS:

The divorce ceremony was a grand but solemn social occasion, and each read a statement of devotion to the other.

Far from ever finding cause for complaint, I can to the contrary only congratulate myself on the devotion and tenderness of my beloved wife. She has adorned thirteen years of my life; the memory will always remain engraved on my heart.

Josephine replied:

With the permission of our august and dear husband, I must declare that, having no hope of bearing children who would fulfill the needs of his policies and the interests of France, I am pleased to offer him the greatest proof of attachment and devotion ever offered on this earth.

Poor Josephine’s forced response reminds me of the email Chris read from Melissa last night. It sucks how the broken women have to put on this brave face and talk about how they know it’s all for the best. Anyway. That’s enough. I lied about being brief. Sorry.

(p.s. I found that image on a blog called My Napoleon Obsession. You must read it! I added it to my blogroll so I can learn new stuff about Napoleon every day. I’ve got a similar obsession with Henry VIII and the Tudors, so it’s right up my alley.)

March 4, 2009

I’ve been bested.

***Update! My second attempt was a success!***

Well, it was bound to happen eventually. I’m pretty proud to say that in my short career as an amateur chef, I’ve never had to throw a recipe out and start again from scratch. Until today.

What's that in my trash, next to the empty Thai take-out boxes?

What's that in my trash, next to the empty Thai take-out boxes?

I’m re-attempting this recipe again as we speak, and it’s supposed to be a surprise for Dave…so I won’t tell you what it is just yet. I just wanted you all to know why I’ve been a bit quiet today. My soul was being broken apart, piece by piece, in the kitchen.

(Oh, p.s., in case you’re wondering – we re-use paper bags from the grocery store as our kitchen trash. It’s not as good as re-usable grocery bags, but I’m glad we’re not creating double waste.)

Tags:
March 4, 2009

WEEEEEEEEEEEE!!! I LOVE AUBREY ATLAS!

Okay, dude. Wow. Okay. Give me a second here. I’m hyperventilating. LOOK! At THIS!!!

Aaaaaahhhhhhhhh!!! (sound of harps playing and choirs singing)

Aaaaaahhhhhhhhh!!! (sound of harps playing and choirs singing)

Aubrey Atlas is our wedding invitation designer and you had better BELIEVE that she is the most amazing, creative, talented lady in my life! She planned the wedding of two of my dear friends last summer and recently acquired a letterpress machine…so, basically, she’s your one-stop amazing wedding shop. If you’ve got a wedding coming up or a party to plan, I can’t recommend her enough. She can work with your budget and give you something completely unique and memorable.

This picture is from her blog – I’m DYING to see my invitations in real-life! DYING! You should take a look at her blog just so you can drool over the work she does…she’s amazing. Amazing, I tell you!

Tags:
March 4, 2009

Wow

This guy has taken YouTube videos with music in them and remixed them into awesome songs. Pretty amazing. I know what I’ll be listening to while I’m working on my Big Secret Project today (more to come on that later, after I’ve surprised Dave with it and uploaded the pictures).

It’s almost as good as this video. Almost.

Tags:
March 4, 2009

The Bachelor Jason Mesnick: Don’t hate me, I’m just living my jerky a-hole life

That’s what that jerk-face should have said, anyway. Instead, he went on the After The Final Rose Ceremony: Part Deux and cried more crodocile tears over how much he hurt Melissa and how hard it is to be hated for “living my real life.”

"Hmmm...whose life can I screw up next?"

"Hmmm...whose life can I screw up next?"

Continue reading my rant on Jason

March 4, 2009

Speaking of free makeup…

bronzerNicole, creator of the Being Frugal is Fabulous blog, posted this morning about three free rebates being offered from Physicians Formula. You have until December 31 of this year to buy the products and submit the coupons from the site. You can get a mascara, bronzer, or bronze booster. I’m a fan of Physicians Formula – it’s fairly inexpensive, but their products are good quality and gentle on the skin.

Tags:
March 4, 2009

Good night, moon

I’m heading to bed (way too late!), but if you’ve got a chance, take a sec to tell me your responses to James Lipton’s 10 questions. Just leave your answers in the comments. Consider it a way to break the ice. Or to procrastinate. I’m planning on featuring my favorite answers right here, on this wee little blog!

Raise your hand if you love this book

Raise your hand if you love this book

Oh, one other thing – I’ve gotten a bunch o’ questions about the title of my blog. Sure, the name is pretty self-explanatory as a takeoff on the phrase “beauty is in the eye of the beholder.” But why did I choose it for the title? It’s pretty simple: it’s a way to remind myself that beauty (and by extension, value of any kind) is a completely subjective judgement. I care for many people, and their opinions matter to me – but at the end of the day, I’m the person who will choose how I feel about myself and my life. Sometimes you’ve just got to say to the naysayers in your head, “Eff you! I AM the beholder!” I hope some of you are reminded of that each time you type the address into your browser. (Although those of you with auto-complete probably only have to type “I am” + down-arrow, so…I don’t know what that must do to your mood.)

Check back tomorrow for my BIG project, plus probably some bitching and moaning about the 2-mile run/cross-training workout I’ll be doing.

March 4, 2009

Working his butt…on?

Yikes.

Yikes.

My darling friend-slash-bridesmaid-slash-idol Lindsey sent me a link to this story today. There’s a trainer in Australia who is trying to gain 85 pounds so that he can better understand what his obese clients go through to lose weight. So what do you think? Is that noble and altruistic…or stupid? He claims that he’s not putting himself in any long-term risk (for problems like diabetes).

Whether or not this is a stunt is up to you, but I did find one part of the article pretty applicable to my life.

He reports being more lethargic and having a hard time motivating himself to do anything.

That sounds exactly like me when I’ve been skipping workouts and letting my diet run wild. It’s a horrible cycle – the less I work out, the less I feel like I even can work out. There is a silver lining to his comment, though – the fact that he feels unmotivated and lethargic now means that he didn’t feel that way when he was fit and taking care of himself. That gives me hope. I like to think that by the time my half-marathon rolls around, I’ll feel more energetic throughout each day. Looking back, I realize that I had a lot more energy when I was swimming. Now, I always feel like I have a weight on my chest…but I know that’s going to dissipate as I get further into my training (fingers crossed)!  More tales of this crazy guy here and here. Lindsey knows exactly what sort of stuff interests me (bizarre freakish people, apparently).

So what do you think about this Aussie dude? Is he (a) stupid, (b) noble, (c) an attention-grabber, or (d) all of the above?