My first official half-marathon training run

A picture of my perspective during the run (is it weird that I brought my camera into our building's weight room? Yes, I think it is.)

A picture of my perspective during the run (is it weird that I brought my camera into our building's weight room? Yes, I think it is.)

Alright peeps. My first run is done. I wish I could say that I feel great…but…I’ll be honest, it was tough. I ran 3 miles, which is doable for me, but I did it on the treadmill at 6.0 mph. Don’t make fun, but that’s fast for this little non-runner. Anyhoo, specifically, here are my run stats:

  • Total distance: 3.26 miles
  • Calories burned: 332 (according to the treadmill, which is not the best measure)
  • Timing: 6.0 mph for 15 minutes; 30 second water break; 6.0 mph for 11 minutes; 30 second water break; 6.0 mph for 1 minute; 6.2 mph for 1 minute; 6.5 mph for 1 minute; 6.0 mph for 1 minute; 5 minute cool-down at decreasing speed (I probably averaged 3.0 mph)

Let’s keep it real, people. I did not feel motivated to haul my hiney up to my building’s weight room. But here, in pictures, is how I convinced myself:

Firstly, I made sure my hair looked good. It’s hard to tell from the photograph above, but there’s a mirror right in front of the treadmill. I didn’t want to stare at my fuzz-head the whole time, so I took an extra two minutes to make sure my ponytail looked cute and bouncy. It’s such a little thing, but I don’t know…it made a difference for me. Even Dave commented on how cute I looked, which is a big deal because he was eating his cereal and NOBODY can get his attention when he’s eating his cereal.

A little Frizz-Ease and I was good to go.

It's probably underwhelming for you, but for me, good ponytails are hard to come by.

Second, I made sure I was wearing a cute shirt. Being a swimmer, I got used to always having cute workout gear – it was an intrinsic part of the swimming culture. But as a runner, sometimes I just throw a sports bra on under my pajamas and go. Lately, I’ve been working out in cute t-shirts that I normally reserve for casual nights out with friends. Since they’re t-shirts, my sweat doesn’t ruin them, and the bonus is that I don’t feel dumpy while I’m running. (I get all of my tees from Palmer Cash. They’re soft and thin, and I love the funky designs.)

My favorite shirt (for working out and for hanging out) is the one on the right. It has a tree with cute owls on it.

My favorite tee (for working out and for hanging out) is the one on the right. It has a tree with cute owls on it.

And last, I got excited to take a picture of the killer view from our workout room (to show you, of course!). I can see the Hancock Tower to my left, and then to my right I can see the frozen lake and the Mies van der Rohe buildings on the waterfront.

The Hancock Tower

The Hancock Tower

So, folks, I got through my run. There were times when I wanted to slow down, but I kept pushing myself because I knew that my workout would be over sooner if I did. I like to spend the last couple of minutes of each run slightly increasing my speed – even if it’s by .2 mph. It keeps things interesting, and it makes me feel like I’m finishing strong. I’m looking forward to being able to run without feeling like I’m going to die, though.

What little ways do you get yourself ready to work hard? Leave your answers in the comments!

One Trackback to “My first official half-marathon training run”

Leave a Reply

