Archive for March 3rd, 2009

March 3, 2009

How to get a box full of free makeup

Freebies!

Freebies!

This is my sample box. It holds more makeup that most women own – and I got it all for free! All it takes is a little patience and a little bit of shopping savvy.

Click here to read how I came to own so much free makeup!

Tags:
March 3, 2009

Quinoa-camole

Yep, just made up a new word there. This recipe was originally posted on my other blog, but I had no pictures to go along with it. I made another batch yesterday with my camera in hand. Note: I didn’t have an onion, so you won’t see it in the pictures. Boo hoo.

What I ate after my run

What I ate after my run

It combines three of my most favorite things to eat: quinoa, tomatoes, and black beans. And lime! And cumin! Eating it is reminiscent of eating guacamole (hence the title of this post), although it’s heartier and has a much better texture. We had this for our dinner  entree last night, but it would also make an incredible side dish to homemade enchiladas or fish tacos or something.

Tags: ,
March 3, 2009

T-Shirt Lust

Oops. After posting about Palmer Cash tees, I spent a couple of minutes browsing their site…and now I’m lusting after some of their new shirts. Ah, well. I’ll have to wait till the economy fixes itself. Look at them, though! They’re darling!

Are you drooling?

Are you drooling?

Most of the tees on Palmer Cash are long, which gives you a skinnier silhouette. Also, I’ve found that they tend to run a little small. I wear medium from them, even though I’m usually a small in t-shirts.

(Clockwise from top left: Partridge Tee, Hi-Definition Tee, Ames Peacock Tee, Blue Flowers Tee)

March 3, 2009

My first official half-marathon training run

A picture of my perspective during the run (is it weird that I brought my camera into our building's weight room? Yes, I think it is.)

A picture of my perspective during the run (is it weird that I brought my camera into our building's weight room? Yes, I think it is.)

Alright peeps. My first run is done. I wish I could say that I feel great…but…I’ll be honest, it was tough. I ran 3 miles, which is doable for me, but I did it on the treadmill at 6.0 mph. Don’t make fun, but that’s fast for this little non-runner. Anyhoo, specifically, here are my run stats:

  • Total distance: 3.26 miles
  • Calories burned: 332 (according to the treadmill, which is not the best measure)
  • Timing: 6.0 mph for 15 minutes; 30 second water break; 6.0 mph for 11 minutes; 30 second water break; 6.0 mph for 1 minute; 6.2 mph for 1 minute; 6.5 mph for 1 minute; 6.0 mph for 1 minute; 5 minute cool-down at decreasing speed (I probably averaged 3.0 mph)

Let’s keep it real, people. I did not feel motivated to haul my hiney up to my building’s weight room. But here, in pictures, is how I convinced myself:

Click here to see the pictures!

March 3, 2009

Inspiration

When I was looking for that video clip from “The Red Balloon,” I came across a bunch of stills taken from the movie. How sweet would it be to decorate a child’s room using this movie as the theme? For that matter, a grown-up room could pull it off, too. (By the way, don’t forget to answer the Inside the Actors Studio questions in my previous post! I want to hear what you’ve got to say!)

red-balloon

redballoon-2

red-balloon-1

See what I mean? Maybe the prenatal vitamins have gone to my head.

I’m heading out for a lunchtime run – check back in a bit for a workout update, another healthy recipe, and the story of how I came to own a giant box full of free makeup from Sephora.

What was the theme of your childhood room? My mom didn’t know whether I was a boy or a girl, so she hand-painted blue and red rocking horses on my walls and made me a matching toychest that we still own.

Tags:
March 3, 2009

Inside the Wiggs Studio

Just for fun, let’s play Inside the Actors Studio. James Lipton asks every guest on his show the same 10 questions.

James Lipton

James Lipton

Here they are:

  1. What is your favorite word?
  2. What is your least favorite word?
  3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
  4. What turns you off creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
  5. What sound or noise do you love?
  6. What sound or noise do you hate?
  7. What is your favorite curse word?
  8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
  9. What profession would you not like to do?
  10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

Read my answers after the jump, and then answer them yourselves in the comments! (Don’t be shy about commenting; I know there are a lot of you out there!)

March 3, 2009

The Bachelor

I can’t write about this without spoiling it because I am FREAKING OUT SO MUCH, so only read more if you’ve already seen the show.

I can't even come up with a caption that won't reveal something.

I can't even come up with a caption that won't reveal something.

 

March 3, 2009

Yaaaaaaaaaayyy!! It’s-a Fabio!

He's-a so-a dreamy!

He's-a so-a dreamy!

Fabio from Top Chef is going to be getting his own cooking show! Thank-a God-a. I a-love-a that man-a.

Tags:
March 3, 2009

Day 1 of half-marathon training

Today was officially Day 1 of my training program. Lucky for me, it wasn’t a running day – because I’m still sore from our dance-fest on Saturday night. Since the program that I’m following is 12 weeks long, I’m going to ease into these first couple of weeks and focus on building a good running base.

This morning, right when I got up, I stretched for 20 minutes. It was awesome. I should start every day this way.

This isn't from this morning; it's from last fall

This isn't from this morning; it's from last fall...but you get the idea

Then, later this afternoon, I had an appointment that was exactly a mile and a half from here (thank you, Google Maps walking directions). So I put great tunes on my iPod and strutted to and from my meeting – and whammy! I saved money on taking a cab AND I got a good 3-miles of walking in. Not too shabby. I recently read somewhere that the reason Parisian women stay so skinny despite their high-fat diets is because they walk EVERYWHERE. So I was feeling totally chouette whilst prancing down the street.

Tomorrow is a 3-mile run. Totally doable. I’ll just put an episode of 24 on my video iPod and hopefully be able to zone out. What do you do to keep your mind occupied while you’re working out?