Archive for March 2nd, 2009

March 2, 2009

Another gorge room

I wish I were cool enough to have a blue sofa at my dining table. How gorge is this whole space?

Look at the legs of the table!

Look at the legs of the table!

 

Those dishes? That print on the wall?! Too gorge.

Those dishes? That print on the wall?! Too gorge.

(images via Apartment Therapy)

Tags:
March 2, 2009

No-sugar-added breakfast

Remember how I love to eat oatmeal every morning? And remember that soup recipe I posted earlier today? Right. The trouble with my penchance for oatmeal is that I love to drown it in maple syrup and brown sugar. So, yes, it’s got a lot of nutrients, but the way I prepare it heaps on empty calories.

I’ve been trying to figure out a way to enjoy oatmeal without adding any sugar…and this morning I came up with a solution!

Even the sunbeam loved my new technique

Even the sunbeam loved my new technique

How does this relate to the soup I made, you ask?

Tags: ,
March 2, 2009

DONE!

I officially have my life back! I sent in the last part of my business school application just now…so now it’s in God’s hands. Or the hands of the admissions committee. Or both. Within the next couple of weeks, I’ll know my fate.

How I celebrated

How I celebrated

Wahoooo!

March 2, 2009

A “two-ingredient” soup

Good morning my friends! This recipe is a re-post from my other blog, Figs&Wigs. I thought I’d show it to you because a) it’s pretty durn healthy, so long as you agree that potatoes won’t kill you and turn you into a lard-ass, and b) I want you to hear about my technique for adding onion flavor to the soup. I won’t say why yet…but I have big plans for breakfast, so there’s your hint.

Junior year of college, there was a period of about three months where I ate Safeway’s Enlightenment brand Potato Leek soup every single day. In highsight, that’s disgusting. The soups come in these little cardboard cups full of salty powder, and all you had to do was add boiling water and wait five minutes. It got to the point where I was eating so much of this stuff that I ended up getting in touch with Safeway’s corporate headquarters and had a case of Potato Leek soups shipped to me. The only reason I stopped eating them was because my one-cup water heater from 1982 crapped out from overuse.

So you can imagine how I felt when I saw this post on The Kitchn. I never imagined I could make REAL potato leek soup! And that it would be easy!

blog-pictures-028

So, okay. The recipe on The Kitchn….just didn’t do it for me. Maybe I’ve had my potato leek palate destroyed by instant powdered soup, but when I first tasted the soup after following their instructions, I was…okay, I’ll say it…I was appalled. So watery! So bland!

Luckily I had a few tricks up my sleeve, and I ended up making something totes delish and, if I do say so myself, far better than the Safeway shizz I used to eat.

March 2, 2009

Oh, Yahoo Answers

I came across this gem the other day when I was trying to figure out cell phone/driving laws.

I came across this gem the other day when I was trying to figure out cell phone/driving laws.

I admit, I’ve used Yahoo Answers from time to time. It can come in handy when I’m trying to figure out what to substitute for allspice in a recipe. However, unlike Wikipedia, it doesn’t seem to be moderated, so the result is that 9 out of 10 people contributing answers are real yahoos (sorry, had to do it). 11 Stupid Questions From Yahoo Answers That Have Changed My Life hits the nail right on the head. I couldn’t finish reading it because I was crying with laughter. (Note: it’s a little bit offensive and there’s an EXTREMELY offensive photograph next to it, so don’t go if you’ve got a delicate consitution.)

Tags:
March 2, 2009

Happy Read Across America Day!

raalogosmallMarch 2nd is Read Across America Day. With all of this talk of bodily fitness, I would be remiss to ignore the absolute importance of keeping one’s noggin in shape. Reading is, for me, the one pure indulgence that I can give myself without feeling even a flutter of guilt. I am so thankful for the ability and luxury to be able to lose myself in the pages of a good book.

My mama raised me right. She taught me to love the smell of aged pages, to value reading over sleep,  and to abhor the inexcusable rudeness of raising one’s voice in the library. She had a framed Horace Mann quote in our dining room that said, “A house without books is like a room without windows.”

In honor of the importance of childhood literacy, share the book (or books) that made you love reading.

The book that got me hooked on reading was Blubber by Judy Blume. Blubber is told from the point-of-view of a bully. I read it at a time when I was one of the “cool kids” in school (something which was about to change in the next year with the onset of my acne problems). I remember being completely freaked out by how horrible Blume’s bullies were – mostly because I saw bullying on a daily basis and never did anything about it. Blubber was the first book I ever read that challenged my moral compass. At the time I just thought it was a good novel, but now I realize that I loved it because I was a better person for having read it.

What book changed your relationship with reading?

Leave your answers in the comments!

Tags: