Archive for March 1st, 2009

March 1, 2009

Bonus workout

I love those times when I’m doing something for fun and then realize it’s also a good workout. Example: playing tag. Other examples: walking the dog, sight-seeing on foot, hiking with friends, rearranging furniture, shopping, and, of course, dancing. I don’t usually count these activities as offical workouts, since they’re hard to quantify and not nearly as hard as going for a run.

This picture is a perfect example of what I'm talking about.

This picture is a perfect example of what I'm talking about.

But then there are times like last night. Times that are so much fun, so epic, and such a good workout, that I have to give myself props for getting some extra training in. Even better? There’s video evidence of the awesomeness.

It all started out innocently enough. Dave and I weren’t planning on doing anything even mildly exerting last night, which is why my sore butt, thighs, abs, and shoulders this morning are even more surprising.

I’m about to post a very embarrassing video of myself, but you’ll have to click through to see it because there’s NO WAY it’s going on the front page of my blog

March 1, 2009

My favorite skin-care product

I’ve been on Accutane three times since I was in fifth grade. I don’t know why, but somehow I got hit with a genetic zit-stick. Luckily for me, my acne was never cystic, so I don’t have any scarring. While my skin is pretty clear now, I usually have at least one blemish somewhere on my face. I’m also pale as a sheet and have very sensitive skin, so any irritating product (i.e., topical acne cream) turns me into a blotchy, burning mess. The only thing I’ve found that keeps my skin clear without irritating it or causing that tight, flakey, dry feeling is Blemish Therapy from RareMinerals.
It comes with a zit-sized brush, even!

It comes with a zit-sized brush, even!

I like to dust a thin coat of it under my makeup (I use mineral powder foundation), especially when I’m feeling oily or having a breakout. I get a lot of compliments on my skin, even though I don’t necessarily feel like it’s that great, so something I’m doing must be working.

For spot treatment, sometimes I make a paste of the Blemish Therapy powder and salicylic or glycolic acid cream (found in over-the-counter products). I mix it on the back of my hand and leave it on the spot overnight…and presto-chango, it’s gone in the morning! Okay, it’s not completely gone, but it’s usually a lot better than before.

The box is so lovely, I saved it

The box is so lovely, I saved it

You can get it at Sephora, and it is a little pricey at $28, but it lasts forever. I haven’t bought any in over a year. Later this week, I’m going to write about how to save a ton of money by shopping at Sephora…but…it’s Saturday night and we all have better things to think about!

What’s your favorite skin-care product?

Tags: ,