Death Cab…psychic

 

When I was a senior in college, I found myself single for the first time in a long time. I’d had a series of increasingly nasty breakups and I decided I was done playing dating roulette. I was so in love with love, though, that this was a really tough decision. I remember sitting in my dorm room, crying, feeling so alone. (I was totally the angsty drama queen type.)

I had the requisite sad song playlist that I tortured myself with, of course. There was one song, though, that gave me goosebumps when I listened to it. Instead of wringing tears from me, it made me think, and trust, and hope that my decision to be alone was a good one. I wasn’t miserable and lonely; I was keeping myself available for someone who would make a home for me in his heart. I was waiting for My One.

Here are some of the lyrics. They give me chills. They might make you barf with cheesiness, but for me, there was so much truth contained in the lines:

You may feel alone when you’re falling asleep,

And every time tears roll down your cheeks.

But I know your heart belongs to someone you’ve yet to meet.

Someday, you will be loved.

 

 

My One took me on a date tonight and I was remembering that time just before we started dating, when I would listen to this song and wish for him. Of course, I didn’t know it was him at the time. But I like to imagine that someone was whispering in my ear that my life was accelerating toward this incredible person who would be┬ámy best friend.

 

 

Anyway…maybe some of you are needing some hope right now. Try this song. What music do you listen to when you need to keep yourself hopeful?

3 Comments to “Death Cab…psychic”

  1. It’s good to see you back, Elizabeth! I’ve missed your blogs.

  2. Hold On – by Alabama Shakes is my theme song this year. I envision myself triumphant when I listen to it…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

