How to do hot eyes with just one shade of eyeshadow

I understand that most of you out there don’t own NEARLY as much makeup as me. That’s fine. I don’t expect you to…yet. So for you, my damsels, I will write about how to look glam with only one eyeshadow.

one-product-eyeshadow-020

For color, you will need: a verrry sparkly eyeshadow. That’s it. You choose the shade. Today I did a beige tone with¬†Urban Decay’s Midnight Cowboy Rides Again. It’s quite glittery, so unless you’re me you’ll only want to wear this stuff when you’re doing something swanky and fabulous.

one-product-eyeshadow-007

one-product-eyeshadow-009

Easy. For some reason with Urban Decay eyeshadow, I always use my fingertip to apply it (specifically, the ring finger of my right hand). I find that with some pressed shadows, using your finger instead of a brush will lock the pigment to your skin a bit more, and will also make it go on more smoothly.

Next, line your top eyelid with whatever liner you want (I used Clinique Brush-On Cream Liner – in black, obviously¬†- because I got a free one in the mail and I wanted to try it. I gotta be honest. I’m not a fan. Just stick to the powder or felt-tip liner). Add mascara and WHAMMO, you’re done. It should take two minutes, unless you take a longer to line your eyes.

one-product-eyeshadow-018

So…I realize that it looks like I have a ton of eyeliner on in this picture. And I do. But if I could give you ONE tip for doing your eye makeup when you’re going out, it’s to overdo it. Put on wayyy more than you think you want. Don’t believe me? Try doing your makeup in dim light sometime, then look at yourself in full light and see how much more you put on. It looks better in pictures, and when you’re in a darkly lit restaurant or bar, you’ll still look glam. (Honestly, whenever someone compliments me on my makeup – which is, like, every day in my dreams – my answer is that I wear too much. Bam. There you go. You can thank me later.)

But when I do these scary close-ups, you probably think that a) my pores could swallow a toddler and b) I look like a clown. The thing is, I’m not a fan of taking pictures of myself. I don’t have anything against people who do it, but the I feel weird putting up photos where you can CLEARLY see my arm extending out in front of me to hold the camera. However. I think that it’s important for you to see that I’m not lying when I say that you should go overboard on the makeup. So here are some full-face shots of this look in action.

You could wear it, say, when you’re telling someone something very important:

one-product-eyeshadow-024

…or when you’re telling someone about the way lemon juice tastes:

one-product-eyeshadow-025

…or when you’re telling your girlfriend that your arch nemesis bought a 500-dollar bag, and WHY would you do that in this economy when 500 dollars could feed a family of four for a month?

one-product-eyeshadow-026

…or when your fiance tells you that you’re not allowed to have another drink tonight:

one-product-eyeshadow-027

…or when your nemesis shows up with the $500 bag AND she’s wearing the EXACT SAME OUTFIT AS YOU except she’s skinnier and prettier:

one-product-eyeshadow-028

…or when you HAVE to admit, she looks pretty good, actually:

one-product-eyeshadow-0291

…or when she brushes by you like she doesn’t recognize you, so you have to go get in her face and tell her what’s up:

one-product-eyeshadow-030

So there you have it. All the Wiggs face you’ll ever, EVER need. Don’t say I never do anything for you.

Tags:

13 Comments to “How to do hot eyes with just one shade of eyeshadow”

  1. I feel the same way about the self-photography- makes me feel like I’m 14 on Myspace or something. I like the last photo! You tell that bitch.

  2. You crack me up. Man oh Man.

    PS-I was totally OBSESSED with like blue sparkly urban decay in junior high. It had a great name too which I am totally blanking on.

  3. You seriously crack me up! I love it! Great post and the eyes look oh so GLAM!!

  4. i heart urban decay in smog. absolutely fab! love love love the makeup posts. if you were to ever take requests i request one your wealth of knowledge on mascaras pulease. :D

  5. maybe when you’re in seattle, I’ll come run the discovery trail & then accidentally stop by your place & you can show me how to do eye makeup. And then we’ll have martinis. Or whatever. :) very pretty eyes.

  6. You need to give me a personal makeup lesson!

    I LOVE your hair.

    • Aw, thanks. :) I have a love/hate relationship with it. It’s been mostly hate in the past year, ever since I had to chop it off (it used to be about 8 inches longer than it is now and I miss my mermaid hair).

  7. this is hilarious :)! I know NOTHING about makeup – I like these lessons! and you can feel comfortable with the closeups when you look that good :)!

  8. haha the faces are cracking me up
    you look great!

  9. I just found your site and I love your makeup advice! What products do you use on your hair? It is completely gorgeous!

    • Aw, thanks! I don’t really do anything consistent, but my favorite thing to style my hair with is Suave mousse (number 7 if they’ve got it, or extra hold if not).

  10. You look a lot like your mother (and write like her too)–I knew her as a child in Olean and as a teenager in Belgium (this is a true compliment!)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers

